• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

[vJASS] Need help with Call Preload Jass codes

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 6
I am trying to get used to Jass codes fast. JassNewGen provides me a lots of native functions in a drop-down list.

JASS:
//...other functions
function
//...other commands
call Preload("Abilities\\Spells\\Other\\Stampede\\StampedeMissileDeath.mdl")
//...other commands
endfunction

OR simply
JASS:
call Preload("Abilities\\Spells\\Human\\Thunderclap\\ThunderClapCaster.mdl")

I can get this out from
JASS:
native Preload takes string filename returns nothing
I am asking about Call Preload(ability.mdl) because I am not sure what does it use for?, and does it work with ONLY ability/effect type models or any models?. I never know that function from my GUI Knowledge of 7 years and I am new to Jass. . Is there any book, ebook, tutorials or something that guides me on the meanings of native orders, like. call preload uses for & in which cases should I use it, call Preloader, call PreloadStart, etc. Besides, there are quite many Preload like orders as prefix-, see in the function list, and a lot of others orders I don't know them. Though I can read some Jass script and understand common orders by relating them to the ones would be used in GUI.
Thanks for your helps.

Level 26
Where have you read anything about abilities? Models do not have a classification like "effect type". You probably mean the arrangement Blizzard has done in the editor but this is no actual property of the model file.

The preload functions are not commonly used, therefore little is known, do not even know if they work properly etc.

Afaik:
JASS:
native Preload takes string filename returns nothing
loads the resource on the path, this can be models, 2d arts, sounds, probably even scripts or whatever

JASS: