• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[Trigger] Custom Spell Inconsistency

Level 1
Hello guys! This is my first time posting here and I'm kind of a noob when it comes to triggers; all my knowledge is GUI and I search how to make most of the things I try.

I have a custom skill concept I want to execute, and it feels like I'm almost done with it, but what happens is... It's way too inconsistent and something I can't point out is probably leaking.

The concept itself is: On my map, every playable hero will start with a trait ability that can't be levelled up. This one will start with an active skill called Lunar Infusion, which is a buff spell (made out of Bloodlust) that'll mark an allied unit and spawn a dummy on top of the buffed unit every 2 seconds, which will then cast Lunar Strike (made out of Acid Bomb) at a random nearby enemy also every 2 seconds, dealing 10 + (Caster Intelligence) damage. The buff has permanent duration but can only be applied to a single target at once. If the hero tries to buff another target, the previous one will be removed.

The triggers can probably be briefed, but take it easy on me since I'm just a beginner. My issue is: Trigger 1 and 2 seems to work just fine, but the third trigger seems to be leaking or failing since the dummy is inconsistent when casting Lunar Strike. Sometimes he will, sometimes he won't.

Trigger 1: Lunar Infusion's buff setup
  • Infusao Lunar Setup
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Begins casting an ability
    • Conditions
      • (Ability being cast) Equal to Lunar Infusion
    • Actions
      • Set VariableSet Caster = (Casting unit)