• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

[Spell] slowing potion change target possible?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hey guys, i still working on my own TD map, i am new at warcraft 3 mapping.
I have created a tower and added the spell slowing poison. My problem is that this tower just should dot and change the target. but my tower only shoots on the same target until it dies or gets out of range. is there a trigger or an other function to stop the tower attacking for a short time and target a new target?

hope you can help.
greetings from germany LiME1337 :thumbs_up:

Level 9
Hey guys, i still working on my own TD map, i am new at warcraft 3 mapping.
I have created a tower and added the spell slowing poison. My problem is that this tower just should dot and change the target. but my tower only shoots on the same target until it dies or gets out of range. is there a trigger or an other function to stop the tower attacking for a short time and target a new target?

hope you can help.
greetings from germany LiME1337 :thumbs_up:

You need to save the units within a data structure. A Unit Group will be good for this. Just store all the units that have been hit with the DOT already, then remove those units from the Unit Group when they die or when the DOT buff disappears from the unit.

I'm just not sure how you will change the target, and of how you will decide which unit that are excluded from the unit group to attack.

Level 2
You need to save the units within a data structure. A Unit Group will be good for this. Just store all the units that have been hit with the DOT already, then remove those units from the Unit Group when they die or when the DOT buff disappears from the unit.
can you explain this a bit more specific for noob mapper :p or link a guide?

Level 9