• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Create Units via Coordinates

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 7
Hello I have one last question for my rpg which I basically need in order to continue because from what I hear if I place every one of my monsters on the map eventually will screw it all up. I am not good at jass and I have learnt lua in the past but that was over a year ago. I just do not want to have to create hundreds of regions and then create the units and then remove locations. It would be nice to just create the units via coordinates and remove any possible leaks I dont know if it leaks but. I just heard that in jass you can create units this way and it is more efficient so if someone can give me a snippet for one monster I will +rep and continue. I also have read basically every jass tutorial on here and tbh didnt see anything about it took days off my map to do so.

JASS:
function Trig_Create_Unit_Test_Actions takes nothing returns nothing
    call CreateUnit( Player(12), 'nfov', -6593, 29102, 270)
endfunction

//===========================================================================
function InitTrig_Create_Unit_Test takes nothing returns nothing
    set gg_trg_Create_Unit_Test = CreateTrigger(  )
    call TriggerAddAction( gg_trg_Create_Unit_Test, function Trig_Create_Unit_Test_Actions )
endfunction
The Start I have am I 100% wrong or what?

Level 24
That works if you have checked "Run on map initialization".

Leaks are ussually things that are never destroyed or removed.
Units will get removed eventually (unless you do some weird shit).

Another thing that could leak is when you assign that unit to a local unit variable and not null it.