• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[JASS] Quick JASS question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 4
Okay, I'm going to regret asking this question, I just know it.

Anyhow, I'm just beginning to learn JASS, I've read the tutorials, downloaded the editors, such and such. But the one thing that I cannot figure out how to do (after checking the forums, tutorials, chatroom) is how to make my JASS function work with my map.

Where do I put the .j files? Do I need to import them or something?

Level 11
WorldEditor allows you to edit War3map.j directly in the editor. It only lets you edit small sections (which it calls "triggers") of the script as a whole. Convert to custom text to edit a trigger in JASS.

JASS NewGen includes JASS Helper which has a //! include or something directive, which allows you to take the contents of any .j file and include them anywhere in the map. The latest NewGen also includes TESH, which has syntax highligting directly in the world editor.

common.j, common.ai, and blizzard.j are files that are automagically included in the execution of a map or AI script. common.j contains native functions, blizzard.j contains JASS-made functions (mostly used by the GUI) These functions can be found (in diffrent versions) in war3.mpq, war3x.mpq (i think...) and war3patch.mpq.

Level 4
Well, okay. I've written a simple .j file using JassCraft to show some special effects upon the casting of a spell. Except now what? I've tried just leaving it in the base folder with JassCraft, tried putting it in the folder with the map, and tried importing it.

Level 11
ok, lets try this again....

.j is the JASS script file extension
.ai is the JASS AI Script extension