• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Question about JASS (or vJASS) system for custom projectiles

Status
Not open for further replies.
Okay, so I'm not a coder, but I've been wondering if the following is at all possible:

Say I want to make something like a Point Defense Drone from sc2 in Wc3 - that would require the missiles be targetable projectiles, aka, units, right? What I'm getting at more specifically is having a system that allows you to modify projectiles that are already in flight. With this I'm thinking about the various custom projectile libraries out there, coupled with a damage detection system that allows you to block damage (so you block the initial damage, which is instant, and instead trigger the custom projectile to fire immediately from the attacker). What that should give you control of is the projectile itself, right? That would mean that you can modify said projectile in midair - change it's appearance, destroy it like a Point Defense Drone in sc2 does, make it change course and hit another unit, etc.

Now, technically, all this sounds possible with the right libraries/systems. However, is that a viable system to have in, eg., a melee map? I'm not just talking abilities here, I'm talking about basic ranged attacks as well. Would it be an unreasonable resource hog, for instance?

Or is there a better way to do this?

Level 12
Question can be simplified as: "is using a projectile system viable in a melee map, (including change of attack projectile of units)".Because if you do that, implementing a point defense drone won't be much of a problem.

Level 12