• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Random Heroes in melee games

Level 13
I recently tried (and succeeded) in making a random hero system for otherwise standard melee games. This is my first attempt at any kind of trigger - indeed my first time even opening the trigger editor in the world editor - so I don't know if this is "tutorial-worthy." Also, I realize that this is a very specific function, and a bit obscure. But, since I couldn't find someone else giving the answer when I was looking for it, I figured I may as well.

First of all the rules:
1) All heroes are removed from all altars and taverns. Instead the option to "train random hero" is available.
2) Upon training, a random hero shows up instead. It could be any hero from any race.
3) You can have a max of two of the same heroes (I felt three blademasters would be a bit much, but two was manageable...)

Keep in mind these rules are specific to this tutorial. It's fairly straightforward to alter them i.e. only allowing specific heroes or not allowing repeats at all..

The overall layout of this tutorial is as follows:

Step 1) Sound. This is merely getting the sounds each hero makes upon being trained ready for the game.

Step 2) Object modification. Creating dummy random hero units and then setting up the altars and taverns to only train random heroes.

Step 3a) Trigger initialization. The Heroes and sounds from Step (1) need to be loaded into variables and the units to be built by the altars need to have limits so players can only build one per tier.