• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

What the Hell....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rui

Rui

Level 41
Joined
Jan 7, 2005
Messages
7,550
Ok let's start: I'm making a map with multiple races BUT the custom heroes i make can be trained like 9999 times. To prevent this I did the following:

Action: Used the trigger of the Initializion "max hero by 1 for hero-type" or something like that.
Result: Didn't work.


Action: I tryed putting all heroes in the Melee category like Veggie suggested. I thought that then the map initializion function would work.
Result: Didn't work.

Action: I putted all custom Heroes in the Gameplay Constants where it says "the following heroes are affected by hero limits".
Result: Didn't work either.


If any of you know how to solve this bugg, please tell me. It will be greatly appreciated. If not, I will simply have to set the hero limit to 1 so that people can only train 1 hero... but that was not the intention...

P.S. Unfortently I had to use WE Unlimited. I fear this bugg may be a WEU's enchantments. <_<

Thx :wink:
-Rui
 
Level 18
Joined
Mar 7, 2005
Messages
824
i wonder why it dont work i also made a lil test map for me with some races and heroes and let the "normal game trigger in it" the campaign - heroe train limit = 1 , this isnt the realy trigger but it works for me and i dont know why it dont works in your map oO

maybe u must test all available "hero limit" triggers to make one working trigger....
 
Level 22
Joined
May 11, 2004
Messages
2,863
You may have to outsmart your own map on this one. Try adding this:

Event:

A unit owned by (player #) finished training a unit

Conditions:

Unit type of (trained unit) is (that hero you only want one of)

Action-

Player- Set availability/construction of a unit to: Make (that hero type) unavailiable for (player #)




Make this trigger for each player. That way, as soon as the hero is built, they are removed from the training archive like any other hero would. That, and if your hero died, they can still be revived so ong as your alter still had the "revive hero" funtion.
-VGsatomi
 
Level 6
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
263
lol, i had the same problem a few month ago too. i fixed it by using "limit units of unit-type" instead of "limit heroes of hero-type"
for me it worked then. but my main problem was the bug that revealed custom-race players as thought the did not have a main building -.- that's pretty annoying and i haven't found a way to solve that yet(puting it in gameplay const don't work -.-). if you have plz tell me.
 

Rui

Rui

Level 41
Joined
Jan 7, 2005
Messages
7,550
VGsatomi said:
You may have to outsmart your own map on this one. Try adding this:

Event:

A unit owned by (player #) finished training a unit

Conditions:

Unit type of (trained unit) is (that hero you only want one of)

Action-

Player- Set availability/construction of a unit to: Make (that hero type) unavailiable for (player #)




Make this trigger for each player. That way, as soon as the hero is built, they are removed from the training archive like any other hero would. That, and if your hero died, they can still be revived so ong as your alter still had the "revive hero" funtion.
-VGsatomi

That's easiest by just doing this:

Events:
A Unit enters Rect: A Unit enters Playable map area

Conditions:
Boolean Comparison: ((Entering Unit) is a Hero) equal to True

Actions:
If/Then/Else:

If: Number of living "custom hero" units owned by (Owner of (Entering Unit))) greater than or equal to 2
Then: Unit: Remove (Entering Unit) from the game.
Else: Do Nothing


And If/Then/Else for all heroes. I will try using your way Lord Raszul.

-Rui
 
Level 22
Joined
May 11, 2004
Messages
2,863
Events:
A Unit enters Rect: A Unit enters Playable map area

Conditions:
Boolean Comparison: ((Entering Unit) is a Hero) equal to True

Actions:
If/Then/Else:

If: Number of living "custom hero" units owned by (Owner of (Entering Unit))) greater than or equal to 2
Then: Unit: Remove (Entering Unit) from the game.
Else: Do Nothing


Uhhhh no. Problems with that:

A) You still wasting resources, so that means you would also have to make a seperate trigger to compensate the players who just built a repeated hero every time they do it. It would aslo screw up theri units built score and heroes used score.

B) The hero would still be available to be built again and aagain and again.
-VGsatomi
 
Level 1
Joined
Sep 21, 2005
Messages
5
Am I correct in assuming you only want 1 hero on the map? if so just set the amount of food it needs to more than half of what the player can have. On my map i want to choose 1 custom hero and 8 creatures and i made my hero need 12 food, each creature needs 1 food, the cap being 20.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top