[General] what is wrong with this map

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 21
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,069
what is happening is that the variable controlling the wave number goes from 0 to 2 even though i programmed it to go up by 1 each time. the other problem is that the second multiboard does not start up. please help me fix those issues.
 

Attachments

  • andreas tower defense.w3x
    333.1 KB · Views: 40
Level 25
Joined
May 11, 2007
Messages
4,650
Wave 2 and wave 3 triggers:
  • wave 2
    • Events
      • Game - wavenumber becomes Equal to 3.00
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Unit - Create 30 wave 2 for Player 12 (Brown) at (Center of entrance <gen>) facing Default building facing degrees
  • wave 3
    • Events
      • Game - wavenumber becomes Equal to 3.00
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Unit - Create 30 wave 3 for Player 12 (Brown) at (Center of entrance <gen>) facing Default building facing degrees
You also have two triggers for increasing wave numbers:
  • creeps is empty
    • Events
      • Time - Every 2.00 seconds of game time
    • Conditions
      • (creeps is empty) Equal to True
    • Actions
      • Set wavenumber = (wavenumber + 1.00)
  • wave starter
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Dies
    • Conditions
      • (creeps is empty) Equal to True
    • Actions
      • Set wavenumber = (wavenumber + 1.00)
And fix your leaks.
 
Level 21
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,069
i have set the wave numbers higher as a workaround but only for wave 1 and 2 so far. it is not a bug. you did not provide a fix for anything.. the multiboard is still missing. the wave number still goes from 0 to 2 at the start. the triggers for increasing wave numbers i can certainly merge. please help me fix the stuff that is broken. what leaks have you found?
 
Level 24
Joined
Aug 1, 2013
Messages
4,658
"i have set the wave numbers higher as a workaround but only for wave 1 and 2 so far. it is not a bug."
Really?
Try set it back to 1 and 2, and then find out that there is nothing wrong.
I have created a debug trigger that shows me clearly that the counter works properly... weird but it works.
  • Show Wave Number
    • Events
      • Time - Every 1.00 seconds of game time
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Cinematic - Clear the screen of text messages for Player Group - Player 1 (Red)
      • Game - Display to (All players) the text: (Wave number = + (String((Integer(wavenumber)))))
About leaks... Location... all locations that you use.

Multiboard...
When you turn a trigger on, it doesnt "run" the trigger.
Elapsed gametime has happened BEFORE you turned it on, so it will never run that trigger.
You just have to remove the event and instead of turning it on, you run the trigger (make sure it is initially on then).
 
Level 21
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,069
i set the numbers higher in order to get the waves to trigger in the right order. that trigger with elapsed gametime caused the issue though(the one named timer). what should i remove the event for? i found out that elapsed time for multiboard creator was incorrect so i just changed it. i do not however know how to clear up leaks so either you help me or nothing will be done about that.
 

Ardenian

A

Ardenian

It is your job to remove the leaks of your map and the tutorials/links show how to.
 
Level 11
Joined
Jun 2, 2013
Messages
613
The tutorial DOES tell you exactly how to remove leaks and even explains why it leaks. What else do you want?

Basically any trigger you have in your map that that creates a unit at a region leaks. To fix this, you have to create a point variable, then in the trigger where you spawn units, set that point variable to a point in whichever region you want your units to spawn. Then Create your units at your POINT Variable, then destroy the same Point Variable with custom script at the end of the trigger. It's not rocket science.
 
Level 24
Joined
Aug 1, 2013
Messages
4,658
that is not proper behavior. why not tell me directly how to remove the specific leaks you found.(that is proper behavior.)

I will now tell you directly how to remove leaks.
Step 1: Go to this web page.
Step 2: Read that article.
Step 3: Find every single location in your map.
Step 4: Do what is said in the article.
Step 5: uhm... I forgot step 5 but I am sure it had something to do with apologies.

There is no use in writing the same thing over and over again to people that are too lazy to ask google how to do something.
Therefor, we write tutorials which should give the most detailed information about the matter that is discussed so we can give a link to the tutorial whenever someone has the urge to still ask that same question that has been answered too many times.

So the results are simple... Either read the tutorial and fix your map (which has to happen eventually cause you are leaking a serious amount of handles) or you decide to think that it will not help you out and go without fixing the leaks.
Whatever outcome will come... I dont really care :D
 
Level 25
Joined
May 11, 2007
Messages
4,650
you gave me nothing yourself. tutorials are too general and will never work for me in this matter. i have said it again and again and again but people refuse to listen. please stop trolling and give me the information i need.
Dynamic Locations

  • Unit - Create 1 unit at Somewhere
If there is a function, like (Position of (Unit)) or (Center of (Region)), it will leak.

  • Set loc = Somewhere
  • Unit - Create 1 unit at loc
  • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_loc)

  • wave 1
    • Events
      • Game - wavenumber becomes Equal to 2.00
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Set tempPoint1 = (Center of entrance <gen>)
      • Unit - Create 30 Wave 1 for Player 12 (Brown) at (Center of entrance <gen>) facing Default building facing degrees
      • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_tempPoint1)
  • point 2
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit enters point 1 <gen>
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Set tempPoint1 = (Center of point 2 entrance <gen>)
      • Unit - Order (Entering unit) to Move To tempPoint1
      • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_tempPoint1)
Do you see how your trigger and the text in the tutorial are connected.
The tutorial you said was way too general for your problem.
?

Why bother asking for help if you're going to refuse it. You do this in every thread you make.
 
Level 23
Joined
Apr 16, 2012
Messages
4,041
the point of the tutorial is so that people dont have to write the same kind of thing over and over and over again. Imagine the tutorial didnt exist. then the paragraph wrote bz LordDz would appear on the forum multiple thousand times. And it for sure is a lot of time wasted typing the same shit over and over again, even if you just copy paste it, do it 1000 times and you have quite a few hours wasted
 
Level 24
Joined
Aug 1, 2013
Messages
4,658
The loc variable is reserved space in the RAM of your computer.
That space in your memory will be filled with the data of a location handle that is used in your map.
This can then be used to load that data and modify it.
This also means that you have to release that reserved space again to make sure that it will not reserve useless space.

Now dont ask me to explain RAM or memory space.
 
Level 24
Joined
Aug 1, 2013
Messages
4,658
You really want to know what the loc variable is?
9qO9zhu.png
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top