1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Units have been turned into heroes in our latest Icon Contest! Vote for the best icon set at the Icon Contest #18 Poll!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The poll for Hive's 12th Concept Art Contest is up! Go cast your vote for your favourite genie!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. The raddest synthwave tracks were chosen - Check out our Music Contest #12 - Results and congratulate the winners!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Warcraft III Spam Bots

Discussion in 'Computer Tech' started by LeaderDark, Apr 22, 2007.

  1. LeaderDark

    LeaderDark

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Well. One of my friends is in a clan that was completely destroyed by bots.There were over 50 bots entering the channel, all the same name spamming and they disabled the warcraft III anti-spam thing. Each bot was doing 100 posts a second untill warcraft kicked them all. I wish I could have taken a screen shot but they did it to quickly. I was wondering if there was a way to prevent this from happending to you, because people were disconnected for not even spamming because of the huge spam from the bots.
     
  2. gromhellscream666

    gromhellscream666

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Messages:
    292
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    i dont think their is a way to stop it.
     
  3. LeaderDark

    LeaderDark

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    That sucks. These bots were sending viruses somehow...
     
  4. lorothrigs

    lorothrigs

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    716
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yeah...don't think that's possible...
     
  5. DoOs_101

    DoOs_101

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    835
    Resources:
    6
    Maps:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    Hey lorothrigs!
    Anyways those bots are spywares
     
  6. LeaderDark

    LeaderDark

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yup, spywares can give you viruses or contain them.
     
  7. gromhellscream666

    gromhellscream666

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Messages:
    292
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    if they are sending spyware arround or virus my sugestion would be to get avast(virsu protection) great 1 too
     
  8. DoOs_101

    DoOs_101

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    835
    Resources:
    6
    Maps:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    Or Karpesky :D go to www.9down.com to download or see reviews about Karpesky.
     
  9. lorothrigs

    lorothrigs

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    716
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0


    IOMFG OMF GOMFG OMF GOMFG OMFG OMFG OMFG OMF GOMF DSF!@!#@#!@!#$@!# DOOS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    On topic: If they are spyware, the other way to get the spyware is by running the bot on your computer. Not from having a bot in the channel you're also in.
     
  10. Mecheon

    Mecheon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,974
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    10
    Resources:
    10
    Warcraft can't transmit viruses, unless you download a map and it somehow puts a virus on your computer

    Things existing in the same channel as you do not cause spyware to enter your computer
     
  11. Chaos

    Chaos

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Resources:
    4
    Icons:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    If they whisper you, use the ignore command "/o igw"

    If you want to prevent them to enter your Clan channel, use this: "/clan private"
    (Chieftain or shamans is able to activate this, undo with "/clan public")

    You're are familiar with the avaible commands ?

    In addition, like Mecheon wrote before,
    Impossible like you presented it.

    Chaos
     
  12. Jacek

    Jacek

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,291
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Nice troll
     
  13. Freakazoid

    Freakazoid

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    338
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    The max number of people in a channel is 40. How can there be over 50 bots?
     
  14. LeaderDark

    LeaderDark

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Im not sure. It said the clan name (85)
     
  15. SuPa-

    SuPa-

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,281
    Resources:
    29
    Models:
    19
    Icons:
    5
    Skins:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    29
    WC3 can give viruses... I kept getting spy ware every time I logged on for a few days, but then I stopped getting it
     
  16. lorothrigs

    lorothrigs

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    716
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    No it can't. Not unless Blizzard itself does it. Maps can't do it unless someone manages to put a Buffer Overflow exploit in a map, which seems like it'd be kind of hard..
     
  17. Jacek

    Jacek

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,291
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    ur so stupid omfg
     
  18. lorothrigs

    lorothrigs

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    716
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Uhm, okay?
     
  19. Jacek

    Jacek

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,291
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    yeah... how the fuck warcraft can install spyware and viruses? and how can 60 bots join the channel?
     
  20. aarkshark

    aarkshark

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    521
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Uhm. I'm going out on a limb here, but possibly HE had viruses allready, OR.... the internet, which is used for battle.net last time I checked, was used to transmit viruses to your computer.
    But, I'm not a genius at these things.