Warcraft III - Patch 1.30.2

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 10
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
355
Don't get me triggered. :ab:
It's pretty easy to discard anyone's opinion based on «you're being emotional». It so happens that emotion is part of life. Go figure, it even plays a role in rational decisions, and it's nothing less than the driving force of human culture. A significant part of morality has to do with your attitude towards others' emotions.

I'll try my best to keep the amount of triggers at a minimum ;)

I don't honestly think that we discard the reasons behind the emotional responses of the people. I mean we all agree that stuff is currently in a broken state and fixes are needed. We more or less disagree on which way to go from now.
The three main line of argumentations i see here are summerized in a broad sense:
  1. The bugs and desynchs needs fixing, but i don't think pressing the order/priorities isn't possible/favorable/important, for as long as i see a direction and/or a deadline
  2. Blizzard is not able to handle the patches and thus, it would be best to roll back and lay the work on the game into the communities hand (may it be towards bots, casc files or reverting to 1.26)
  3. We need the game breaking bugs fixed as fast as possible and a more sensitive and longer developement cycle
  4. I don't see the direction the patches are going, a better communication is highly needed
Now, i know the arguments are more diverse to that, this is only very broad and somewhat filtered.
Now, i don't really see the possibility or favorability of point 2 (corporate reasons and the game being aged horrendously). I don't see the possibility for 3, because of the harsh deadline of reforged. Although i would wish that solutions of 3 and 4 would be possible (4 should definetly be fullfilled, just look at the communication GGG with Path of Exile has, Bex is the best!). So im stuck with 1 and to parts 4, simply because i know at some point everything should be running and its the most practical solution.

The main gripe with the argumentations around is that emotional responses, in most cases, don't provide any new input and stop an exchange of arguments. This is why most societies developed social and cultural rules to guide the communication in a way to ensure better (by all means not perfect) exchange of thoughts. We often summerize these rules under the phrase "being polite/respectfull". Under these rules, becoming emotional in such a way is often disruptive behaviour. In the gaming community that is often called "being toxic".

What that means is, even though that person may have good points, people over the long run will stop listening to that person, since it quickly devolves into a monologue (interestingly on both sides, since they cannot agree on a form of communication and logic, but still try to argue).
You know, what pretty much happens with many discussions towards particularisms.

Now, i can understand that people want to send a clear message to blizzard, which is understandable. I just thing that the hive is for this method not the right place. Reddit or the blizzard forums may be more suitable for that (reddit is pretty much made for that), so it would make, from my perspective, sense to go there to vent (thank god we don't have up- and downvotes, although some people use reputation for that, not that i mind that, since it mostly is positive encouragenent only.).
 
Last edited:
If someone having those problem after newest fix :

1.Refresh button not working at all

2.An order in list auto change, but not really auto refreshing,and dead games also stay in the list... cause button do not work...

3. Solution : Restart Warcraft 3 after new hotfix patch and it will dissapear = worked for me..

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is me before Reforged announce , i had to choose between 2 girls and Malaysian girl and her body from this video convinced me to choose her :


This is me after i went to malaysia she forced me to do a plastic surgery cause she works for Malaysian secret service, i ended up as famous asian hip-hop musician as my identity cover up, but at night i work as their agent .
My primary task is to infiltrate in Lemonade studio , trough my popularity and since they hire only people from Malaysia= which i exactly look alike right now.

 
Last edited:
Level 13
Joined
Jun 13, 2016
Messages
498
Well, I can now safely conclude I see no differences in this hotfix.

The lobby issues still persist. The error messages are the same (or lack thereof). In particular:

1. Sometimes, when trying to join a lobby, an error pops up saying "Please select a game to join.", even though I already have a game selected. This usually means I can't join this lobby unless I refresh or reopen the custom games window.
2. I "join" the lobby and go back to the main screen without any messages at all.
 
Level 20
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
1,527
I did a quick check on reddit, no recent complaints about desync which is a good sign I suppose.

Do you mean desyncs during loading / right after start? Because I still experience normal desyncs on maps which didn't before (1.29).

Also, I find it funny how me and others anticipated this situation so well. They patch bots and LAN away and their solution is a hot mess, meh.

Noticed some very annoying things rn idk if already mentioned:

1. Lobby bugs when a player leaves/joins during count down. You lose control over the chat input field and all keyboard input will cause hotkeys to fire.
Press a by accident, and you're gone or cancelled your lobby. I can't chat, I don#t even know if players can still join - just broken. Fix the stupid countdown.
Make it cancel like on bots, or don't let players leave.


2. You can get stuck in the main menu with a permanently grey battle.net button (I think caused by unstable net) without any information on what's the problem.

3. Pressing the LAN button will cause the game to soft lock then because it can't open this dialog.
The dialog prevents me from entering LAN even when I have connection.
The dialog also takes forever to load, causing me to close down the frozen game before it even appears.

nCJUkM9.png


Why is bonjour suddenly a mandatory requirement? Makes no sense. Is this a mac regression that made its way into the window version?! Or did they really just patch away LAN?

 
Level 21
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
6,222
Saving a campaign with the campaign editor immediately closes the editor. (a persisting issue from the previous 1.30 PTRs)
However, if you save it as a different file (save as) it works.
Ahh, yes, I've have this bug as well.

But if you have opened one of the campaign maps while saving, it'll save just fine. The bug personally only happens for me when I save the campaign file without any maps opened.
 
Level 4
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
71
Hey has anyone seen the mpqs? I finally was able to update to 1.30 from 1.27 today and I can't seem to find them anymore. I kinda need them for a project unless all the files are being stored elsewhere?
 
Level 6
Joined
May 11, 2013
Messages
205
Hey has anyone seen the mpqs? I finally was able to update to 1.30 from 1.27 today and I can't seem to find them anymore. I kinda need them for a project unless all the files are being stored elsewhere?

Since 1.29 they removed war3patch.mpq file(for those who don't know old MapOptimizer used that file for protecting/optimizing maps) They change a lot of old files and probably mpq files are gone as well
 
Level 10
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
355
So, looks like a new hotfix came right in:

1.30.2 Hot Fix 3 - 12/06/2018

3. Pressing the LAN button will cause the game to soft lock then because it can't open this dialog.
The dialog prevents me from entering LAN even when I have connection.
The dialog also takes forever to load, ca

I habe encountered the same thing, although not a softlock in the sense that i can just press no amd it tells me that it couldnt build up an connection. But still a very odd behaviour. Havent tested it with the newest hotfix, though
 
  • Like
Reactions: pyf
Level 13
Joined
Jun 13, 2016
Messages
498
I seem to be having far fewer problems getting into lobbies, now. In fact, I don't think I've had one instance when I couldn't get into a lobby after this hotfix. Good job (?).

Desyncs still happen but they seem to have become fewer too, so that's something to look forward to, I guess. Keep up this pace, pls.
 
Level 8
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
215
Did Blizzard change the way in-game time works? I had timers with very low counters (0.03 sec etc.) using them as "cooldowns". Now i have my units firing miniguns and assault rifles 2x faster or so. No code errors. Map complies well. Everything else works perfectly fine.
Or is it just better response time from the engine itself now?
edit:
Omfg. You can change units' names in game now!!! Is it X-mas yet? Thank you, Blizzard <3
 
Last edited:
Level 1
Joined
Aug 14, 2016
Messages
8
Does someone have a fix for the grayed Battle.net and the server list buttons? This patch has really messed things up...
 
Level 5
Joined
Jul 15, 2015
Messages
115
We really need "Do you really wish to leave" for the Host in lobby. I have alreayd multiple times misclicked something that has caused the lobby to be cancelled. :( Some kind of verification "Are you sure YES/NO" would be nice.
YESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS A MUST!
Magnificent suggestion comrade!
 
Level 12
Joined
Mar 18, 2014
Messages
602
Good news guys: On Blizzard forums staff started to remove and\or ban threads\users when they are saying patch is broken or they say the bots need to be kept etc. ah also I'm also banned for saying that '2 users named King Omelette and Butcher are acting like bots for sure they even defend the first 1.30.2 patch without any hotfixes'

Good move Blizz :)
 
Level 20
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
1,527
Okay I figured out: if the host presses Start Game and the launch is getting cancells (by e.g. some one leaving) he cannot type into chat anymore (even if he clicks onteh chat) and any key he presses acts as hotkey (as if he held down ALT), this causes me to cancel lobbies quite often :( pls fix

yes, i made a video of this above.

On Blizzard forums staff started to remove

I don't think they ever stopped doing that. But might be more prevalent now.

Does someone have a fix for the grayed Battle.net and the server list buttons? This patch has really messed things up...

That's because of your net connection. you need stable upload.
E.g. when I upload something and my net is used heavily (i can still browse and everything) button stays grey. After upload it turns clickable. Major riggage.
 
Last edited:
Level 4
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
71
Since 1.29 they removed war3patch.mpq file(for those who don't know old MapOptimizer used that file for protecting/optimizing maps) They change a lot of old files and probably mpq files are gone as well
So the old tools don't work anymore.
 
Level 20
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
1,527
So the old tools don't work anymore.

Tools that expect old files to be in game dir won't work, unless you put those files there again.

So where do I find the CASC stuff? I know theres a CASC viewer, I used it for HotS stuff, but where are they hiding?

Where is what hiding? Just open the data dir with casc view, and you will find all game files there in a folder called war3.mpq or so.
 
Last edited:
Level 8
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
215
A quick question to the code specialists: anticipating Reforge's changes, was it a smart move on my behalf (or a dumb one) to stick to GUI (hoping that Blizz won't delete/change some old triggers, crucial for some features) for a very large single-player project? I even deliberately deleted all the pieces of custom code I had (except for some unavoidable parts, like leak removal, etc.). The fear of having to deal with changed/broken scripts is real. Or should I just relax and re-insert the old code (custom commands, jass etc,)?
Thank you in advance.
 
Level 13
Joined
Jun 13, 2016
Messages
498
A quick question to the code specialists: anticipating Reforge's changes, was it a smart move on my behalf (or a dumb one) to stick to GUI (hoping that Blizz won't delete/change some old triggers, crucial for some features) for a very large single-player project? I even deliberately deleted all the pieces of custom code I had (except for some unavoidable parts, like leak removal, etc.). The fear of having to deal with changed/broken scripts is real. Or should I just relax and re-insert the old code (custom commands, jass etc,)?
Thank you in advance.

There's no way to be sure until Blizzard releases more information about the changes done to Reforged.

However, they have expressed commitment to retain full backwards compatibility with old maps, so your project should continue to work as expected even after the release of Reforged, sans any fuck-ups we might (should?) expect from Blizz.
 
Level 6
Joined
May 11, 2013
Messages
205
Anyone else having a issue where they can't join LAN games?

Now that hostsbots are no longer a thing in Warcraft III. LAN is just a useless option when you have Battle.net. The only thing that LAN offers is to the banned cd-keys owners to play games using 3rd party platforms like ent connect or garena nothing else.
 
Level 5
Joined
Jul 15, 2015
Messages
115
Also LAN is for a setting that is void of an Internet connection.
What is useless or isn't is up to each individual end user to decide. If you don't care about it - okay, but people that do care about it -> don't care that you don't care lol. It's a proper part of the game and Blizzard made it, so if it's there, it's expected to work. :] (I don't remember when I last used it though)
 
Last edited:
Level 8
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
215
Now that hostsbots are no longer a thing in Warcraft III. LAN is just a useless option when you have Battle.net. The only thing that LAN offers is to the banned cd-keys owners to play games using 3rd party platforms like ent connect or garena nothing else.
I thought the core idea was to provide ppl with local area network for local tournaments. I'm too old now ;( Do ppl sitting next to each other have minimum ping to each other if they connect to Bnet to play as in LAN mode?

BTW: any news on max. inventory size in Reforged? Creating virtual inventory is living a nightmare come true.
 
Level 6
Joined
May 11, 2013
Messages
205
Also LAN is for a setting that is void of an Internet connection.
What is useless or isn't is up to each individual end user to decide. If you don't care about it - okay, but people that do care about it, don't care that you don't care lol. It's a proper part of the game and Blizzard made it, so if it's there, it's expected to work. :] (I don't remember when I last used it though)

And how exactly LAN feature will be useful when Reforged is already on The Battle.net app? All Blizzard Games using Internet connection. If you don't have internet connection well guess what you cannot enter the game and you stuck in menu that you must sign in first before you can play. This model exists in WoW, Hearthstone, Heroes of The Storm and Diablo III. Which is why LAN will fall as a feature when Battle.net 2.0 arrives with server improvements and better latency
 
Level 10
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
355
I mean we shouldn't really kneejerk into the stance to praise the loss of a feature due to a bug since it will get removed anyway. It was kinda nice to have and for as long as classic wc3 doesn't get the launcher as a requirement i think it should get fixed. But i can see where you guys are coming from so its not really the highest priority.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top