1. Music Contest #10 - Results are finally published! Drop by to check some retro songs and congratulate the winners!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Join Terraining Contest #19 and witness the aftermath!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The 3rd Melee Mapping Contest is ON! Join in on a ride of a 4v4 melee experience!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 30th edition of the Modeling Contest is finally up! The Portable Buildings need your attention, so come along and have a blast!
    Dismiss Notice

Warcraft III - Patch 1.30.2

Discussion in 'Patch Discussion' started by StoPCampinGn00b, Dec 1, 2018.

  1. Zak17

    Zak17

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    So the old tools don't work anymore.
     
  2. Zak17

    Zak17

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    So where do I find the CASC stuff? I know theres a CASC viewer, I used it for HotS stuff, but where are they hiding?
     
  3. Frotty

    Frotty

    Wurst Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Resources:
    9
    Models:
    3
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Tutorials:
    1
    Wurst:
    1
    Resources:
    9
    Tools that expect old files to be in game dir won't work, unless you put those files there again.

    Where is what hiding? Just open the data dir with casc view, and you will find all game files there in a folder called war3.mpq or so.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2018
  4. pyf

    pyf

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2,146
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    The move from MPQ to CASC was done with v1.30.0
     
  5. jainaproudmore

    jainaproudmore

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Why do I still get kicked out when hosting a game? -_-
     
  6. Warseeker

    Warseeker

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,192
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    So, are all sounds working proprely in this patch now? I just wanna be sure before I update my current version.
    Also, what is the size of this patch? is it still around ~1GB data download?
     
  7. SpiritTauren

    SpiritTauren

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Resources:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    A quick question to the code specialists: anticipating Reforge's changes, was it a smart move on my behalf (or a dumb one) to stick to GUI (hoping that Blizz won't delete/change some old triggers, crucial for some features) for a very large single-player project? I even deliberately deleted all the pieces of custom code I had (except for some unavoidable parts, like leak removal, etc.). The fear of having to deal with changed/broken scripts is real. Or should I just relax and re-insert the old code (custom commands, jass etc,)?
    Thank you in advance.
     
  8. Sir Moriarty

    Sir Moriarty

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    186
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    There's no way to be sure until Blizzard releases more information about the changes done to Reforged.

    However, they have expressed commitment to retain full backwards compatibility with old maps, so your project should continue to work as expected even after the release of Reforged, sans any fuck-ups we might (should?) expect from Blizz.
     
  9. SpiritTauren

    SpiritTauren

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Resources:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Thx. Anyway, it's an exciting time to be a part of hive/wc3 community. Real renaissance. Some new features will solve problems we had for 10 years+.
     
  10. puffdragon

    puffdragon

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    andddd.... wc3 is dead. LOL
     
  11. looking_for_help

    looking_for_help

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    954
    Resources:
    5
    Spells:
    2
    JASS:
    3
    Resources:
    5
    With the new update bnet is finding games again. So it seems that this issue has been resolved.
     
  12. WhiteFang

    WhiteFang

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    3,132
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Anyone else having a issue where they can't join LAN games?
     
  13. Trakya

    Trakya

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    195
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Now that hostsbots are no longer a thing in Warcraft III. LAN is just a useless option when you have Battle.net. The only thing that LAN offers is to the banned cd-keys owners to play games using 3rd party platforms like ent connect or garena nothing else.
     
  14. EredarArbeiterYU

    EredarArbeiterYU

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Also LAN is for a setting that is void of an Internet connection.
    What is useless or isn't is up to each individual end user to decide. If you don't care about it - okay, but people that do care about it -> don't care that you don't care lol. It's a proper part of the game and Blizzard made it, so if it's there, it's expected to work. :] (I don't remember when I last used it though)
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2018 at 2:29 PM
  15. SpiritTauren

    SpiritTauren

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Resources:
    1
    Skins:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I thought the core idea was to provide ppl with local area network for local tournaments. I'm too old now ;( Do ppl sitting next to each other have minimum ping to each other if they connect to Bnet to play as in LAN mode?

    BTW: any news on max. inventory size in Reforged? Creating virtual inventory is living a nightmare come true.
     
  16. Trakya

    Trakya

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    195
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    And how exactly LAN feature will be useful when Reforged is already on The Battle.net app? All Blizzard Games using Internet connection. If you don't have internet connection well guess what you cannot enter the game and you stuck in menu that you must sign in first before you can play. This model exists in WoW, Hearthstone, Heroes of The Storm and Diablo III. Which is why LAN will fall as a feature when Battle.net 2.0 arrives with server improvements and better latency
     
  17. Lord_Earthfire

    Lord_Earthfire

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    300
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I mean we shouldn't really kneejerk into the stance to praise the loss of a feature due to a bug since it will get removed anyway. It was kinda nice to have and for as long as classic wc3 doesn't get the launcher as a requirement i think it should get fixed. But i can see where you guys are coming from so its not really the highest priority.
     
  18. DracoL1ch

    DracoL1ch

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Yeah, killing local minorities who played by LAN for ages now its just another collateral damage, sure.
    Dont you guys have stable internet connection?
     
  19. Tasyen

    Tasyen

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    881
    Resources:
    9
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    9
    Well, Pete Stilwell (Senior Producer) said in an interview: "Lan will be kept".
    But I am kinda skeptical in which form it will be kept with binding warcraft 3 into blizzard app.

    All pure online games, except for Diablo III.
     
  20. deepstrasz

    deepstrasz

    Map Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    7,581
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Too much communism. I prefer my games offline most of the time.