Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Warcraft III - Patch 1.27b

Discussion in 'Latest Updates and News' started by StoPCampinGn00b, Dec 13, 2016.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,433
    Resources:
    2
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Erudition: the quality of having or showing great knowledge or learning; scholarship.
     
  2. karaulov

    karaulov

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Resources:
    3
    Tools:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    No, the problem is not this word)
     
  3. StoPCampinGn00b

    StoPCampinGn00b

    Community Manager

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,462
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Forget about the word stuff. Check this out:

    What's Next for WarCraft 3
    The plans so far are to release 1.27c in mid January. They stated it includes fixing Commandfunc.txt.

    I'm sure you boys will last 'till mid January, in less than a month ;)
     
  4. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,433
    Resources:
    2
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Wonderful.
     
  5. karaulov

    karaulov

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Resources:
    3
    Tools:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    I hope they do not break anything in future patch?)
     
  6. We're promised another patch in less than a month and confirmation on 1.28? It's as if something switched. Or frequent patching is their way to combat memory offset inspection.
     
  7. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,134
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    No its because they are actually working on the game now.
     
  8. That's what they've been doing for the year. My guess is that they've decided to do two patches in a row for WC3 (this wouldn't mean that they won't release SC/Diablo patch before c), because they want to white list those button positions.
     
  9. Zwiebelchen

    Zwiebelchen

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7,014
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    12
    Shit, no mentioning of allowing .html file extension for PreloadGenEnd for 1.27c. Did someone repord the .pld thing to them?
     
  10. Justicebringer

    Justicebringer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    290
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    Best news ever, I wish it happened years earlier tho...
     
  11. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,134
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    No they dropped active development for it a long time ago. Even for the hashtable patch they had to specially divert a team away from other projects to work on it and fix the code typecast exploit. Even then it was done badly with many of the GUI actions causing the editor to crash due to incorrect type references. I would say WC3 has not been actively developed for at least 6 years.

    When Titan failed they tried to divert some resources to legacy games, but they all ended up going to Diablo III and making Reaper of Souls expansion. The only patch made during that time was some minor balance or melee fixes.

    They are not employing people to fix the games. This means there is now a development life cycle. If they use the StarCraft II or Heroes of the Storm cycle we could receive a patch as often as once a month.

    Its because they are actually working on patches now. They have full time employed people to work on them as opposed to having to divert other people away from other projects to work on them. As such they could patch as often as once a month if the development cycle allows. The MPQ system is the big hurdle for regular patches as it makes them bigger and bigger each time. If they migrate to CASC and integrate into BattleNet 2.0 (Blizzard) then they could release a patch as often as once a month, as is common for StarCraft II and Heroes of the Storm (which can get many a month).
     
  12. You're forgetting that classic games isn't only Warcraft III. :)
     
  13. victorken

    victorken

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    how to dowload the latest patch? please tell me!!!
     
  14. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,134
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Log into Azeroth server (US East?). People have reported having problems getting the patch from Northerend (Europe).

    If that does not work get the offline installer from here.
     
  15. Barade

    Barade

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    679
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Well when I connect to the Battle.net now it says "Restart" and then it closes wc3 and the blizzard updater crashes. There is still a prompt window for a Movie Fixer but the update is not finished, so I cant connect to the Battle.net.
     
  16. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,134
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Try the offline installer from here.
     
  17. pyf

    pyf

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2,689
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
  18. Freyky

    Freyky

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    What does the 8MB Multiplayer limit mean? Never heard of it
     
  19. edo494

    edo494

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,846
    Resources:
    5
    Spells:
    1
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    5
    on any other version than 1.27b of the game, there is a limit of how big a map hosted on multiplayer can be. That limit is 8 MB, and that is pretty restrictive limit, so this is a way around it, allowing you, and anyone who has this, to host, and play maps of bigger sizes
     
  20. pyf

    pyf

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2,689
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    It is mentioned in the Patch 1.24b release notes:

    Patch 1.24b
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------

    PC WORLD EDITOR CHANGES

    - Increased map file size from 4 MB to 8 MB.
    - Added the ability to store hashtable handles in a hashtable.
    - Added GetSpellTargetX and GetSpellTargetY natives.
    - Added a new base handle type “Agent” of which many types now extend from.
    - Added a SaveAgentHandle native which can be used for saving most handle types.
    - Added a JASS optimization dealing with global variable change events.

    FIXES

    - Fixed a few false positives caused by the "return bug" fix.
    - Fixed a crash related to hashtable reference counting.
    - “Shadowing” global variables with local variables no longer is possible.
    - Fixed a type conversion dealing with operators (i.e. adding a handle with an integer).


    A reputable source points out, this has been supported since Patch 1.24.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.