1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Rubbed the right way, the genie is out of its lamp! The 12th Concept Art Contest Results have been announced.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The Lich King has a new champion. The results for the 19th Icon Contest are here!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Walk Animation

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Lee_Go, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. Lee_Go

    Lee_Go

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    If a unit has a "walk" animation, how do u tell the unit to do it. Make it use walk animation to move as opposed to its base run.
     
  2. Dark Soul

    Dark Soul

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    If im not wrong, all units only have 1 walking animation.
     
  3. Hunter9G

    Hunter9G

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    What do you mean, theres only one movement animation? What if the unit HAS a walk animation, is just not used then or does it apply if hes moving at a slow movement speed or under a cold effect?
     
  4. Hashjie

    Hashjie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,515
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    a unit only has 1 walking animation and that may vary to the speed of the animation when it's played on how it looks in-game ;)

    you can use:

    Animation - play unit animation

    and

    Animation - set animation speed

    in the trigger editor
     
  5. Kwah

    Kwah

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,391
    Resources:
    8
    Icons:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    8
  6. Reginald

    Reginald

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    To add on to what's in hawk900's tutorial on the "Art - Animation - Run Speed and Art - Animation -Walk Speed", the Run Speed will also basically state at what movement speed a unit will activate their Walk (Fast) animation, and anything lower will cause them to move using just the standard Walk animation.

    Most units only have one movement animation, but for some (Such as Kodos, Thunder Lizards, Magnataurs, and Mammoths) there's an animation for both.

    As an example, let's say a unit has a Run and Walk speed of 200. Whenever their movement is above 200, they'll use the "Walk Fast" animation. Whenever their movement is reduced below 200 (usually by a slow effect) they'll resort to using their "Walk" animation.

    At least that should be how it works. I just messed around with it now in worldedit and it seemed to work like that. Just mess around with those values some until you get your desired effects.