1. Find your way through the deepest dungeon in the 18th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. A brave new world lies beyond the seven seas. Join the 34th Modeling Contest today!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hive 3 Remoosed BETA - NOW LIVE. Go check it out at BETA Hive Workshop! Post your feedback in this new forum BETA Feedback.
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Updating old maps on old versions of worldedit?

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by IronForge, Sep 19, 2009.

  1. IronForge

    IronForge

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    414
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Hey, as you know, blizzard released a new patch that fixed some issues and improved the world editor. Is there anyway to upgrade my old map created before the patch to enjoy the benefits of the new patch?
     
  2. EpixBelongToMe

    EpixBelongToMe

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    188
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    i don't know what you exactly mean but the benefits are new functions in the trigger editor.
    so if you want to use the benefits you just have to use the new functions in your triggers.
     
  3. IronForge

    IronForge

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    414
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Well I want to update my old map to the new version. Not sure if its automatic, but it was made with an older version of worldedit. I want to make it as if it was made with the new version.
     
  4. Parrothead

    Parrothead

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    778
    Resources:
    10
    Maps:
    8
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    10
    Your map will upgrade to 1.23 automatically when you save it the next time with the new patch.

    In order to make sure your map doesn't 'break' in the patching process to 1.23, make sure you

    1) Don't have the 'return bug' in it.
    2) Upgraded to the latest versions of tools like newgen (if you use it).
    3) Haven't used any editors like WEU that may cause corruption.
     
  5. Xarxos

    Xarxos

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    134
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Related to this, I have had some worries about updating the world editor with the new patch, since I've heard that some maps don't work properly after the update. If that should happen, is that a big problem or do you just have to modify the triggers a little to make it work again?
     
  6. IronForge

    IronForge

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    414
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    1) Don't have the 'return bug' in it.
    What is the return bug? Tried searching, probably out there somewhere but dont see the need to read up pages of stuff for a one liner answer.

    2) Upgraded to the latest versions of tools like newgen (if you use it).
    Where can I download this? Heard theres new tools avaliable but looked everywhere, some good links to mapping tools and all that can help make my map will be good. We here at DaL project are fans of DaL, not warcraft. So my noobiness is no surprise.

    3) Haven't used any editors like WEU that may cause corruption.
    What that?
     
  7. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,189
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Just update WC3 and edit your map.
    If you used JASS, then make sure the return bug was not used.
    If the return bug was used, consider using hashtables and the new natives.

    Some GUI actions will error, if that is the case then you will have to remake all the triggers for the map.
     
  8. IronForge

    IronForge

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    414
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Allright thanks but can someone answer my questions?
     
  9. EpixBelongToMe

    EpixBelongToMe

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    188
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    1) the "return bug" was used to convert values from one type to another type while there was no intended function from blizzard. but it could also be used to start a virus. thats why they tried to fix it or already fixed it.

    2) you can download the newjassgen pack here: http://www.wc3c.net/showthread.php?t=90999

    3) WEU = world editor unlimited is also a modified editor
     
  10. IronForge

    IronForge

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    414
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    OK what do you think its the best editor I should use that has al lthe features? Maybe hopefully a save/load system?
     
  11. Xarxos

    Xarxos

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    134
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    So if some GUI actions error, will I have to remake ALL triggers that I've used in the map, or just the ones with erroring (<-- is that even a word?) triggers?
     
  12. Pelsen

    Pelsen

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  13. Xarxos

    Xarxos

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    134
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Ah, great, that's what I need, thank you!
     
  14. IronForge

    IronForge

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    414
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Thank you!!
    but where can I download the additional tools and better world editor that you speak of?
     
  15. Pelsen

    Pelsen

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Here on the hive
     
  16. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,189
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    If your map does not load in WE with GUI errors. Then you have no choice but to eithor write a script to delete the broken triggers in a way WE will recognize (without causing more errors) or you will have to redo all triggers. Fotunatly the JASS trigger file can literally be copied and pasted into new triggers maiking restoring them a quick task. However GUI will be lost for ever.

    Alternativly you could modify your WE installation so that the GUI bug blizzard caused is fixed, however other people will still be unable to open your map without the same fixes.

    Generally I advise using pure JASS, as that is the most stable form of triggers as it is stored the simplest.
     
  17. IronForge

    IronForge

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    414
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    OKies, on a side note how do I add and remove spells from a hidden (trigger disable skill-ed) spellbook? Thats for my passive auras.
    Immolation on = turn on hiddendevotionaura
    Immolation off = turn off hiddendevotionaura
     
  18. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,189
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    You just remove the spell book you used to add them from the hero. It does not mater I believe weather it is disabled or not as the game engine still handles it the same as all spells.

    If it does give you problems, then simply enable the dummy book, remove the dummy and then disable it again. As this is all done instantly, it will not make any lag.

    To level up spells in disabled spell books, simply manipulate the level of the spell inside the disabled book via triggers.
     
  19. IronForge

    IronForge

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    414
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Yeah but what I needd to know is HOW to manipulate the level of spells inside disabled book? can't find the right trigger?