1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The poll for Hive's 12th Concept Art Contest is up! Go cast your vote for your favourite genie!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Travel to distant realms and encounter scenes unknown to the common folk. The Greatest of Adventures is upon us with the 8th Cinematic Contest. Join in on a fun ride.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The 18th Icon Contest is ON! Choose any ingame unit and give him/her Hero abilities. Good luck to all.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Contestants are to create a scene set in the Stone Age. Come and see what you can come up with. We wish you the best of luck!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Colour outside the lines! Techtree Contest #13 is a go. The contest is optionally paired.
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Greetings cerebrates, our Swarm needs new spawners that will have numerous children. Join the HIVE's 31st Modeling Contest - Spawners and Spawned! The contest is optionally paired.
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Trigger - issue order to cast spell?

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by LlamaNamedOsama, Nov 3, 2007.

  1. LlamaNamedOsama

    LlamaNamedOsama

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hmm, it's odd, but is there no GUI trigger action that allows you to make a unit issue an order to cast a spell? Aside from issuing an order with no point which lets you cast a generic melee spell, is there anyway I can make it so I can use a trigger to make a unit cast a custom spell?

    Just another question that just popped into my mind, but how can I make an upgrade that increases magic resistance? The Nightelf Resistant Skin upgrade seems to have no alterable data that affects magic resistance...
     
  2. DenZel94

    DenZel94

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    3
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    5
    Again, and please, keep it only at ONE post.

    ~

    Yours Truly,

    Thy FuKiN n0oB
     
  3. LlamaNamedOsama

    LlamaNamedOsama

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Ah, thanks, though it seems a bit strange, because I thought I tried that though it didn't work...maybe I tweaked an ability wrong...
     
  4. DenZel94

    DenZel94

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    3
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    5
    It could be that you made the type of issue order wrong..

    Like example:

    Order unit to cast ability
    Order unit to cast ability TO UNIT
    Order unit to cast ability TO POINT

    See the differences?
     
  5. LlamaNamedOsama

    LlamaNamedOsama

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Okay I found why it really didn't work. The way it works is that the second form of the unit is supposed to be almost the same as the first, except have no attack. However, the second form retains its attack! I've made it so that none of either first or second attack are enabled, and even changed all the combat stats to 0, yet the second form still keeps the same attack ability it had in the first form... :confused:

    [Edit] Now things are turning out even more weirder:

    To illustrate the background, the settings are this: there is a unit that when it attacks once, a trigger gives it a modified bear form ability which changes it into a form of itself that has no attack and has the "reload" ability. There is also a trigger to remove the modified bear form ability once it is used.

    So I go along and color the second form black, simply wondering if its actually changing, since the first is supposed to have atk but the second without atk (while in-game tests, both forms had attack). This time, it lost its reload ability for some reason, which is an ability of the second form. Before I added the part removing the bear form after use, the second unit still used to have its reload ability.

    Any thoughts on why it isn't working?

    [Edit 2] Hmm, it seems to be fixed now, nevermind bout that. Thanks for the help!
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2007