Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

The Ultimate Terraining Map 4.0

Discussion in 'Terrain & Level Design' started by fladdermasken, May 19, 2014.

  1. NightStalker

    NightStalker

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,193
    Resources:
    5
    Icons:
    4
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    MDX pather is good for finding out the textures but it says [bricks]wall_window uses a texture with the path of:

    UI\Glues\SinglePlayer\HumanCampaign3D\HumanCampaignCastle.blp
    UI\Glues\BattleNet\BattlenetLoginGlue\Battlenet-Login-LeftDoor02.blp

    where can i find these ones?
     
  2. sonofjay

    sonofjay

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,241
    Resources:
    20
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    13
    Template:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    20
    Those are textures inside the Warcraft 3's mpqs. Don't have to bother with those textures.
     
  3. NightStalker

    NightStalker

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,193
    Resources:
    5
    Icons:
    4
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    But why doesn't it show up in the editor or the game itself if i dont have to do anything for them? Am i missing smt?
     
  4. sonofjay

    sonofjay

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,241
    Resources:
    20
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    13
    Template:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    20
    Weird. If you import something that uses Warcraft 3's default texture it will not show up in the editor unless you restart the editor(there are some occasions that when you open your map without placing anything in the editor upon opening the map and then import something it will show up without restarting the editor with or without a custom texture) but it should 10 out of 10 times show in-game. Can you tell me what you're trying to import?
     
  5. NightStalker

    NightStalker

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,193
    Resources:
    5
    Icons:
    4
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    the one i mentioned above which uses those textures.

    Its name should be "[bricks]wall_window"

    There are a few that have this problem too some of them use custom textures some of them use both in game and custom.

    I must be doing smt wrong bcz you all dont have this problem
     
  6. sonofjay

    sonofjay

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,241
    Resources:
    20
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    13
    Template:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    20
    Now that is weird, that one doesn't have a custom texture. It should work fine when you import it. Its either your mpq is corrupted or you didn't restart your editor(close the editor then open it again) after importing. Try importing it again in a plain map and see if it will work.
     
  7. NightStalker

    NightStalker

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,193
    Resources:
    5
    Icons:
    4
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    I tried in a new map, same problem :/
     
  8. sonofjay

    sonofjay

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,241
    Resources:
    20
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    13
    Template:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    20
  9. Heinvers

    Heinvers

    Arena Moderator

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8,335
    Resources:
    83
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    50
    Packs:
    3
    Skins:
    25
    Template:
    3
    Resources:
    83
    Wrong! xD
    You linked him the pavements.


    That came from his other pack.
     
  10. sonofjay

    sonofjay

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,241
    Resources:
    20
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    13
    Template:
    5
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    20
    Oh my. That's embarrassing. XD

    Welp. Yeah so just click Heinver's link.
     
  11. Keiji

    Keiji

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,700
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    The problem here, I'm certain, is probably what SoJ didn't explain thoroughly enough:

    Whenever you import a model to your map, you will have to get all textures (in the case
    of a model that uses ingame textures that's not necessary) and you'll need to give them
    all the proper paths. What's more, is that you'll have to save, close and reopen the map
    for every new set of doodads you import.
     
  12. NightStalker

    NightStalker

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,193
    Resources:
    5
    Icons:
    4
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    I guess the proper path should be (just assume our texture name is; "door_knock.blp")

    Textures\door_knock.blp

    I do restart WE everytime i finish creating and putting the doodads, units or any other custom object.

    I downloaded the bricks set, I'll check them out when im available
     
  13. Fro

    Fro

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    when i'm open it, my world editor is not responding. HELP!!
    oh nevermind, its took long time to wait.
    But how i use it?
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2016
  14. Keiji

    Keiji

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,700
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Did you even read the main post?

    There's a thorough explanation there of what it is and how to use it, and for what
    purpose the UTM is made for. It takes a long time to load because it's filled to the
    brink with doodads, and should not be used for making any maps that are intended
    to be played. It's mostly only used for making scenic terrains.
     
  15. sluk

    sluk

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    617
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    So i can use everything as long as i credit everything?
     
  16. Keiji

    Keiji

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,700
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    That's the gist of it, yes.
     
  17. fladdermasken

    fladdermasken

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,448
    Resources:
    3
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    Yes, but make sure you credit the actual resource creators and not just this map. None of the resources are made by me.
     
  18. The Wanderer

    The Wanderer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    132
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Cant wait to start terraining because of this. I hope the materials on booody's map and cloudwolf's are here aswell.

    +++Respect to the artisans who made this material
     
  19. Heinvers

    Heinvers

    Arena Moderator

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8,335
    Resources:
    83
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    50
    Packs:
    3
    Skins:
    25
    Template:
    3
    Resources:
    83
    No, those are not here. This map contains terraining assets found in our Terrain Board section and some other useful wc3 sites.
    CW and Boody's are personal assets that have been made specifically for their respective maps.
     
  20. The Wanderer

    The Wanderer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    132
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Oh that saddened me a little but i could settle for any similar to those maps. I really loved those textures on those maps :(