1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
  5. The Highway to Hell has been laid open. Come along and participate in the 5th Special Effect Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

StarCraft II Galaxy Editor

Discussion in 'StarCraft I & II' started by redmarine, Aug 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BlinkBoy

    BlinkBoy

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,099
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    4
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    3
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    12
    models are pretty much the same size as .mdxs, plus they aren't 'squished' and .dds textures appear to compress pretty well, maybe better than paletted blps. I highly doubt new models will be a problem for map sizes.
     
  2. Dark.Revenant

    Dark.Revenant

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    477
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    People with decent broadband should be able to upload 16MB maps in 1-2 minutes. The way things are heading, that time will halve twice in StarCraft II's lifetime, similar to how it was for WarCraft III. For example, my service was just upgraded overnight so that I could send said 16MB map to someone in half a minute or less.

    Battle Net 2.0 is probably not designed for 56k'ers in the first place, unlike the original.
     
  3. Hiruty

    Hiruty

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    so we mightr need to upgrade speeds if we have a slow internet net
    E.G. Wireless modems?
     
  4. redmarine

    redmarine

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,781
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Perhaps, but Rob Pardo said that Battle.net wouldn't require all that much. I think he hinted that modems will be usable.

    Source from the Battle.net 2.0 presentation at BlizzCon 2009.
     
  5. Avahor

    Avahor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    286
    Resources:
    8
    Skins:
    4
    Maps:
    4
    Resources:
    8
    That`s the dota effect.

    the multiplayer campaing feature n able to connect with running maps owns me..
    i cannot wait for GE.
     
  6. Hero_Lief

    Hero_Lief

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    What I said infers that they have a dedicated server for getting you the map onto your computer, instead of another person's computer. This way, if they're in North Korea and you're in the US playing on a US server, instead of getting a file transfer all the way from slow, laggy North Korea, you get a dedicated fast download from the StarCraft 2 server on the East Cost (or West Coast depending where you are). This way it'll download faster. This does not infer any kind of stream except saying "hey a unit moved there" so your computer displays it, and that's in a scenario only.
    As for the 16MB maps, we don't know yet, but they'll probably support that.
    Popular games will most likely be reduced however.
     
  7. Hiruty

    Hiruty

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    so more the map is dled the slower it might be?
     
  8. Hero_Lief

    Hero_Lief

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    No, the more maps being download at once, the slower it gets. Just like your computer, if it's running many programs it gets slower, but if it's running a bunch, and you close them, it gets much better. But just because you've run a single program a lot doesn't mean that program will be slower the more you open it.
     
  9. WOWWARS

    WOWWARS

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    489
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    ehh but NOW epicwar is in bnet! well something like that so its nearly impossible to keep maps a secret
     
  10. Hero_Lief

    Hero_Lief

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You can't play PUBLIC without it wanting it in the database, most likely. Private doesn't need it (It'll check if it's in the DB, if so, that's where it sends DLs, but for the sake of testing it won't ask for it to be put into the DB if it isn't, it'll just do a peer to peer download).
     
  11. Hiruty

    Hiruty

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    So basicly you will upload to bnet2.0 then dl off bnet
    WOOT 160kb SPEEDS ^^
     
  12. Hero_Lief

    Hero_Lief

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    A single upload to them is like a map transfer right now for you to a speedy person who is downloading a map from you as you're the host in a Warcraft III game lobby of a game he does not have.
    And the downloads are meant to be fast, AKA maxing out your best for your kind of connection.
     
  13. Hiruty

    Hiruty

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    W0000 they are finaly utalzing 10gb sever conections ^^ ( thats not alot look at it thia way 50,000 people dl at 25kb so thats a whole bunch bandwith then another 150,000 on adsl+2 and faster) ^^
     
  14. andreasaspenberg

    andreasaspenberg

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,015
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    considering how big the starcraft 2 maps are already, blizzard need to increase the limit. they increased the limit of warcraft 3 from 4mb to 8. since starcraft 2 maps take between 1 and 2 megabytes blizzard should allow at least a high size online.
     
  15. Arhowk

    Arhowk

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,752
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    A site called mapgnome.org has been downloading every map ever hosted on all 4 servers for 2 years.

    My brother has a sc2 beta. the models are WAYYY high def. It is questionable if 1. that they will be huge like a megabyte or 2. that they are going to be too hard to be made by mappers. If you take the great terrain, great AI and shit, and throw on a sloppy model, your gonna be like WTF
     
  16. MGCǂSpectre

    MGCǂSpectre

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,007
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    SOme unit models are 130 KB, others like Thor are 1.06 MB. The models are not so incredibly high res, just higher. No model is hard for modelers, they can make much more complex.
     
  17. Dark.Revenant

    Dark.Revenant

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    477
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    It's actually more difficult to make low-poly models optimized for games than high-poly ones for rendering. The older the game, the harder it is to do them right.

    The only problem is file size...
     
  18. bboy-tiger-

    bboy-tiger-

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    899
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Map size might be large, that's why there are premium maps probbly. There will be popular maps and everyone will download them before they join game.
    Tho still what will be the limit for maps ? 10+ ? 15+ ?
     
  19. The_wand_mirror

    The_wand_mirror

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    4,273
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  20. BlinkBoy

    BlinkBoy

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,099
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    4
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    3
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    12
    and who said SC2 models are high poly? they are still low poly just with more details to work on. It's actually harder since you must make a low poly version and then make a high poly version from which to obtain the normal map.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.