• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

New TD: All Ideas Welcome

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
I'm looking to make a new TD (Tower Defense). I've got some ideas of my own, but not enough to build a whole, solid game. I'm new to modding, so I'm really not sure where to begin either. Any help and feedback is welcomed.

I want to hear your ideas for what you think a good TD game would be. Number of builders and towers per builder, tech tiers of the towers, waves, terrain, sounds, abilities, type (Square, Maze, etc.), and number of lives are all things I would like to take into consideration.

On a side note, I'm looking for a mapper, as terrain and map properties are my weakest point.

So let the constructive criticism begin!

Level 10
Mapper? Wat do you mean?
I may be able to help with terrain.
If you want tower ideas, you can look in my thread: Tower Ideas (don't forget to give credit). You may want to do a maul instead f a TD. Just becareful. TDs are sometimes solo and the terrain is new and set for building, while mauls are always team effort on a sometimes fodified version of the wintermauls (3 spawns up top, move down, go to the sides, go down, move in toward middle, go down into ship). Mauls also spawn more enemies because of the ammount of players.
If you are doing a TD (not a maul), I might suggest 30 lives. A maul usually has 50, 25, 10 (I think), 5, and somtimes 1.
The number of builders depends on you. If you want to have themed towers, you might want a separate builder to build those towers. You will probably want the normal builder (all the normal towers, no the big cost heavy towers).