1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

NeoDex 2.7 Wc3 Modeling Kit for 3dsmax & GMAX

Discussion in 'Modeling & Animation' started by BlinkBoy, Feb 1, 2009.

  1. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,836
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Yeah, that's the only model that I saw using texture coordinate rotation keys, so while it's on my TODO list, I never bothered implementing it either.
    If you end up implementing it, share please.
     
  2. uduuduuud

    uduuduuud

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    you can do it with Warcraft model Editor. even edit it use notebook in MDL.

    In my mind ,I think the only trouble is that In max you cant set loop UV animation.

    And cant Render Bliizard.
    =======> if there is a render window like ARTtools , NeoDex is the God work.

    Thanks blinkboy again。
     
  3. BlinkBoy

    BlinkBoy

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,099
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    4
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    3
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    12
    hmn, could implement it but 3ds max uses euler angles for unwrap rotation so it could generate gimbal locks.

    Anyways if you want to implement it on your viewer, you need to convert the UVs to UVW space with W starting on 0.0. Apply the transformation matrix and then reproject from UVW back to UVs. All rotations are along (0,0,0) as pivot point.

    a previewer would be nice but I doubt it would happen.

    My current TODO list:
    * fix collision shapes and tvertex animations
    * create the Sc2 migrator plugin which transforms a NeoDex Scene into Sc2ArtTools scene.
     
  4. DjDinasty

    DjDinasty

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    i have a question, biped animations after export working?!
     
  5. BlinkBoy

    BlinkBoy

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,099
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    4
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    3
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    12
    yeah they should work. Just make sure to add start and ending keys.
     
  6. Ezekiel12

    Ezekiel12

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,053
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Do you know when you will have time to implement this? A current project of mine would require a combination of texture animations..

    Oh and btw, what's wrong with collision shapes?
     
  7. gakko

    gakko

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hello,

    I want to ask how to set up Art Tools Skinning into 3dsmax

    When I install NeoDex,
    it shows that NeoDexAnimationTools need Art Tools Skinning
     
  8. Flux

    Flux

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    2,334
    Resources:
    28
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    19
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    6
    Resources:
    28
    Hi, this might be a noob question but I'm having problems with Neodex,
    Neodex exporter does not export a certain geoset when I edited the geoset with

    Edit - Poly.
    [​IMG]

    My goal is to remove (backspace, not delete) edges and vertices to reduce the overall vertices of the model without creating holes. But whenever I modify it, that certain edited geoset is not exported and completely removed.
    Anyone know how to solve this? Any help will be greatly appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Tauer

    Tauer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,320
    Resources:
    29
    Models:
    25
    Skins:
    4
    Resources:
    29
    It needs to be Editable Mesh for the exporter to recognize it as a geoset. Just convert it to Edit Mesh and it should work.
     
  10. Flux

    Flux

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    2,334
    Resources:
    28
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    19
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    6
    Resources:
    28
    The problem with that is it cannot remove edges or vertices unlike Edit Poly.
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Tauer

    Tauer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,320
    Resources:
    29
    Models:
    25
    Skins:
    4
    Resources:
    29
    Yeah, just add the Edit Poly modifier, make your edits and then right-click the model and select Convert to Editable Mesh.
     
  12. Flux

    Flux

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    2,334
    Resources:
    28
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    19
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    6
    Resources:
    28
    Thanks! I will try when I got the opportunity to do so.

    Edit: It works, I were able to export it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2015
  13. Astromen2009

    Astromen2009

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
  14. BlinkBoy

    BlinkBoy

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,099
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    4
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    3
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    12
    the entry expired...

    Hmn it's probably a thing with animation controllers.

    Which controllers are your bones using?
     
  15. ENAleksey

    ENAleksey

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    189
    Resources:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Hi, how to avoid unification of normals?

    3DsMax
    [​IMG]

    MdlVis
    [​IMG]

    I tried to use the MDX Importer/Exporter - the same thing.
     
  16. Idaero Ace

    Idaero Ace

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    696
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hi, it's me again. A couple months ago I said that Neodex not working on my 3ds Max 13. So now I formatted my hard disk, whole hard disk on my laptop. Install Windows 10, and install 3ds Max 13 again. Then I tried Neodex and it's still the same, weird animation on imported mdx. But other people who used 3ds Max 2013 have no problem with Neodex :( Maybe my 3ds Max 13 is buggy or something. Well, I am still able to importing by import with3ds Max 2009 and export as other format and import it to 3ds Max 13. I am just share my experience, no need to respond to this :)
     
  17. Zwiebelchen

    Zwiebelchen

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,791
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    12
    You can't. It's in the spec of the MDX model format that vertices can have only 1 normal.

    You can create seperate normals by duplicating the vertices.

    But why would you want that anyway? Un-merged normals look terrible with the WC3 shading, as they will create sharp shading contures instead of smooth diffuse lighting.
     
  18. ENAleksey

    ENAleksey

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    189
    Resources:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    So I have to use .3ds/.fbx/.x mesh instead of .mdx :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2015
  19. dtnmang

    dtnmang

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    Resources:
    7
    Models:
    3
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    7
    I tried to export a model but got "Unknown system exception", when I did it in Debug mode this line was highlighted:

    "local found = ArrayFindItem matrices bonegroup"
    What does it mean?
     
  20. ENAleksey

    ENAleksey

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    189
    Resources:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I can, just mdlvis not work correctly with normals. In war3 model editor everything is correctly displayed.
    To avoid changing direction of the normals, just do not save models by mdlvis.