1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The 18th Icon Contest is ON! Choose any ingame unit and give him/her Hero abilities. Good luck to all.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The Secrets of Warcraft 3 have revealed interesting works. The RESULTS for Abelhawk's Mini-Mapping Contest #15 have come out!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Contestants are to create a scene set in the Stone Age. Come and see what you can come up with. We wish you the best of luck!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Colour outside the lines! Techtree Contest #13 is a go. The contest is optionally paired.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Night Rider gained several songs for his journey. The poll for the 12th Music Contest has started. Check it out!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Greetings cerebrates, our Swarm needs new spawners that will have numerous children. Join the HIVE's 31st Modeling Contest - Spawners and Spawned! The contest is optionally paired.
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Join other hivers in a friendly concept-art contest. The contestants have to create a genie coming out of its container. We wish you the best of luck!
    Dismiss Notice
  10. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

How To Create A Hero Tavern

Discussion in 'General Mapping Tutorials' started by Flame_Phoenix, May 4, 2007.

  1. cheesyqueesy

    cheesyqueesy

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Couldnt u just create a custom tavern and put custom heroes in it???
    It would be way easier.
     
  2. Flame_Phoenix

    Flame_Phoenix

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,283
    Resources:
    11
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    11
    It would be easier, but that way you wouldn't learn how to make new heroes.
    You don't like creating heroes, than skip that section ahead, I am sure many people found that information useful.
     
  3. Celestamine

    Celestamine

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    WOW! This tutorial was really helpful! I have just 1 question. Why do we have to do this "Now that our hero is done, we have to add him to the Gameplay Constants in order to make the computer accept this new created unit as a Hero one. "? Would it be the same if I just make it a hero in the stats place? Instead of the Gameplay Constants? and How do I make the hero available on a set time? (the cooldown it has at the start)
     
  4. Flame_Phoenix

    Flame_Phoenix

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,283
    Resources:
    11
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    11
    We have to do this to prevent allow you to have things like tier2 tier3 and so on and to allow only 1 hero of a type.
    ABut the second question just look into the object editor. Your hero will have a field about Stock replenish and Start delay.
    Btw +rep is always appreciated =P
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2008
  5. Celestamine

    Celestamine

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Ahhh... How do I make the tavern stop selling the hero after someone bought it?
     
  6. Flame_Phoenix

    Flame_Phoenix

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,283
    Resources:
    11
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    11
    • Stop Sell
      • Events
      • Conditions
      • Actions
        • Player - Make Footman Unavailable for training/construction by Player 1 (Red)

    On Player - Set construction/availablity of unit to a player.
     
  7. Celestamine

    Celestamine

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    and the event would be me buying the unit? but what if there are lots of heroes and lots of players? would the code just be the same? o.o?
     
  8. Flame_Phoenix

    Flame_Phoenix

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,283
    Resources:
    11
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    11
    MMMmmm you are confused, try this code:

    • Remove Unit
      • Events
        • Unit - A unit Sells a unit
      • Conditions
        • (Unit-type of (Sold unit)) Equal to Footman
      • Actions
        • Neutral Building - Remove Footman from all marketplaces


    When the tavern sells the unit, we remove the sold unit from all taverns. Easy =)
     
  9. mahi_96

    mahi_96

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    nice and thx

    :thumbs_up:Good job man! This was perfect and helped alot!:thumbs_up:
     
  10. Flame_Phoenix

    Flame_Phoenix

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,283
    Resources:
    11
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    11
    Ok I have a lots of people with this question, so here is a very simple answer you all can use.

    Question:
    • Buy Unit
      • Events
        • Unit - A unit Sells a unit
      • Conditions
        • (Owner of (Sold unit)) Equal to Player 1 (Red)
      • Actions
        • Unit - Move (Sold unit) instantly to (Center of (Player1Region))
        • Camera - Pan camera for Player 1 (Red) to (Center of (Player1Region)) over 2.00 seconds


    About:
    Please explain your idea better and in a decent way here, so all can benefit from the experience.

    Hope it helps you guys =)
     
  11. Sabelion

    Sabelion

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    543
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  12. matmat01

    matmat01

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Hero Transfer is wrong

    You can do this as an alternative hero moving trigger:
    Just create a region that covers the hero tavern and do this-
    =========================================================
    event
    a unit enters region
    condition
    none
    Action
    if owner of entering unit is equals to allies of player (scourge/sentinel/etc), move entering unit to region (hero starting point/like in dota) else do nothing.
    =========================================================
    I highly recommend this trigger if you want to have your map an Allpick command or repick.
     
  13. Flame_Phoenix

    Flame_Phoenix

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,283
    Resources:
    11
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    11
    I could do that, but that way we wouldn't have circles.
    You also can have allpic and repick options with my code if you use your brains.
    Still, my hero transfer DOES WORK, however remember that this is coding, there are several ways of achieving the same purpose.
     
  14. ZUBRIS

    ZUBRIS

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    thanks for Tutorial it realy helped :) i
     
  15. Zirukurt01

    Zirukurt01

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    276
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Different hero placing

    Mine was on loap dog!! my own map. If the the Cops & Mafias choosing hero from tavern it will place it to starting location & both of them panned to tavern area after to start the map. :grin::smile:
     
  16. Flame_Phoenix

    Flame_Phoenix

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,283
    Resources:
    11
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    11
    Good to know I can help =)
     
  17. Zirukurt01

    Zirukurt01

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    276
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  18. Zirukurt01

    Zirukurt01

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    276
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    About? My map? that was unfinished.:slp:


    But i think real owner of it dies.
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2008
  19. Shadowy_Demonic

    Shadowy_Demonic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    why is it that when i test my bought unit isnt moved to the region i wanna move it to? for eksample the middle of map
     
  20. jygia

    jygia

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thank You Very much Just what i needed.