1. Are you planning to upload your awesome model to Hive? Please review the rules here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Find your way through the deepest dungeon in the 18th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. A brave new world lies beyond the seven seas. Join the 34th Modeling Contest today!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hive 3 Remoosed BETA - NOW LIVE. Go check it out at BETA Hive Workshop! Post your feedback in this new forum BETA Feedback.
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

GrommashHellscream

Submitted by Tauer
This bundle is marked as approved. It works and satisfies the submission rules.
As the title suggests, this is Grom Hellscream. I've had multiple requests to make a new Grom throughout my years of WC3 modeling, and with the new WoW expansion out I suddenly got inspired to make him. So here he is :)

I worked hard on this one and he's probably my best work so far, so I hope you all like him. I had more plans for him originally, animation-wise. But they turned out to be quite time-consuming to make and since I also have stuff going in RL, I decided to keep to the basics.

Give credits if you use and/or edit.

UPDATE: Fixed a bug, Mdlvis cut off part of his hair when I optimized for some reason.

UPDATE2: Fixed animation bug in portrait.


Major update:

Gave Grom as little face-lift because some of his low quality-ness was bugging me. Changes:
  • Did some touch ups on the texture. Face and hair is much more detailed and crisp, and the rest of the texture has much clearer highlights, resulting in an overall better look.
  • Scaled up Gorehowl quite a bit because the old one was way too puny. Also moved it close to his hand, so now his grip is closer to the head of the weapon. This looks much better and less like he's balancing the weapon by the end of the hilt.
  • He now boasts both new and reworked animations. The walk cycle has been completely redone and should look a lot more dynamic, the attack animations have been tweaked to look less awkward, and he finally has the cinematic animations, which brings me to my next point:
  • He now has a Chaos version, as well as the above mentioned animations. The animations are built the same way as the vanilla version, so it's not an alternate animation set. It's for use in cinematics, like in the Orc campaign.
  • The portrait animation has added bones, resulting in more realistic and less static movements.
  • His weapon and hero glow now has global sequence animations.
There might be more, but that's all I can think of right now. I've decided to leave the old Grommash here as well, for comparison purposes and in case people would like to use it.
Previews
Contents

Grommash (Model)

GrommashChaos (Model)

GrommashOld (Model)

Reviews
Moderator
05:48, 6th Feb 2015 MiniMage: Oh this is awesome. A Hellscream 2.0. The feet seem a little big, but eh, this is warcraft, so whatever. XD Anyhow, I'll approve this with a 5/5. Well done.
  1. MasterBlaster

    MasterBlaster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,056
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    This is just pure awesomeness! 5/5
     
  2. Poloman

    Poloman

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0

    Thanks for the tips, however i've already tried all of the above, more than once. I've probably spent between 1½ hours and 2 hours, trying to get it to work. I've read countless posts from other members and read different possible "solutions", however none of them have worked. Of course i can't tell anyone that it isn't working, if it works in their game but it doesn't work in mine.
    No matter what i try, it keeps being invisible and unable to load the file.
     
  3. Sieben

    Sieben

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    661
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    That's odd. I'm thinking of something else: this model uses Grommash.blp and GrommashChaos.blp, even if you imported the regular green Hellscream only and not the chaos version. Both textures are needed.
     
  4. Poloman

    Poloman

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    It is very odd indeed. Usually i don't have any problems loading models but this one teases me. I've already imported all the files downloaded, yet it still doesn't work.
     
  5. Tauer

    Tauer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,333
    Resources:
    29
    Models:
    25
    Skins:
    4
    Resources:
    29
    Unfortunately, unless someone else can report having the same problem I'm going to have to assume that it's a user error. Nobody else has had this issue, and I always test my models thoroughly ingame before uploading. I can't exactly fix something I can't replicate. Like @Sieben said, an invisible model is often a sign of wrongly imported textures. Perhaps you could upload a screenshot of your imports, so I can check filepaths?
     
  6. Poloman

    Poloman

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Apparently it suddenly started working. For this i am very happy and intrigued. I hope i haven't too much trouble and thanks for the help i could get @Sieben . Keep making such nice models @Tauer :)
     
  7. Jake Kessler

    Jake Kessler

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    4
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    If it helps, I was planning on using this model in my campaign anyway. I'll go ahead and import it tonight and see if I can reproduce the issue.
     
  8. Tauer

    Tauer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,333
    Resources:
    29
    Models:
    25
    Skins:
    4
    Resources:
    29
    That would be helpful, thank you :)
     
  9. Sieben

    Sieben

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    661
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Nice! I had the exact same problem first time I tried to import Tauer's Cho'gall: the first couple of times it didn't display, and all of a sudden it worked. And I never had the issue again. WE's import editor is not great though, you probably just had bad luck!
     
  10. Tauer

    Tauer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,333
    Resources:
    29
    Models:
    25
    Skins:
    4
    Resources:
    29
    Didn't notice that the issue is already fixed. That's good :)

    As @Sieben says the Import Editor can be tricky sometimes, I have issues once in a while too.
     
  11. Jake Kessler

    Jake Kessler

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    4
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    A little late, but: I imported these files and didn't have a problem.

    Grommash.blp
    GrommashChaos.blp
    GrommashHellscream.mdx

    Here he is in the map:

    upload_2018-2-3_18-50-17.png

    Glad this worked out for everyone!
     
  12. IanTay

    IanTay

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Um, anyone know why I can't see the normal Grommash model? If anyone else can figure out why I can't see it please tell me.
     
  13. Jake Kessler

    Jake Kessler

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    4
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    You mean in-game or in the editor? If it's not showing up in-game there's probably a problem with the filename - maybe it wasn't imported to the right path or there is a typo somewhere that's referencing the model.

    If it's just in the editor, try importing the model, clicking save, and then relaunching the editor. That usually fixes editor display issues for me.
     
  14. IanTay

    IanTay

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    k I'll try that, and yes I mean in-game
     
  15. IanTay

    IanTay

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Ya that didn't help XD
     
  16. IanTay

    IanTay

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hey could you show me how yours is put so I can see if I'm just being stupid in my map msking?
     
  17. IanTay

    IanTay

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    The image for Grom is distorted and idk why. If I did something wrong please point it out.
    (Unless the Grom image is supposed to look like that)
    @Tauer @Jake Kessler
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 6, 2018
  18. Jake Kessler

    Jake Kessler

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    4
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    Scroll up to the resource at the top of this page and follow this link: upload_2018-4-5_19-9-18.png

    This will tell you the paths you should use for important the model and texture:
    GrommashHellscream.mdx
    Grommash.blp

    (In this case just delete the war3mapimported/)
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Jake Kessler

    Jake Kessler

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    4
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    As a side note - Grommash.blp is the skin for the model, it's not an icon. That's why Grom's hero icon looks so weird if you try to use it for that.
     
  20. IanTay

    IanTay

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    @Jake Kessler K I did the remove imported thing, and now the model is working thanks for the help :D