Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Flying Height at Negative values by Triggers?

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Samo, Nov 5, 2007.

  1. Samo

    Samo

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Ok, I want to do for a map an ability like some kind of Quick Sands... Ok, but there is a problem. I know that by changing in the object database if you change minimun flying height and flying height you can make negative values... But You can´t change that by GUI!!!! I putted them the ability Storm Crow and then removed(this lets me Change Flying Height on Ground Units), then I setted their minimum flying height to negative values, but if I want to change the Flying Height by GUI, the minimum value is 0.10 in-game display.
    Soooo,, i just wanted to know which Jass Code I shall use for putting negative flying heights. With this, I can do this ability called wquick sands to swallow units into the earth :razz: :spell_breaker: :infl_thumbs_up:

    Ok, Hope you know the Answer!
     
  2. wd40bomber7

    wd40bomber7

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    974
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hold shift THEN click the value you wish to change, when the window to change the value comes up, it will allow you to enter negative values.
     
  3. Samo

    Samo

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Noo

    No, thnx for replying but that´s not actually what i wanted. I need that the flying height is putted by triggers at negative values, because the game doesn´t let you do that. If you define that in the object databse, then you can, but in-game it always put at 0.10 although I put it a negative values(Note: I also changed the Minimum flying height of each unit to -200)
     
  4. YoshiRyu

    YoshiRyu

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    you can export the model, translate down it whole (by 200 value) in a model editor and reimport it, then, you'll be able to set it under the ground with positive value in triggers :
    0 -> 200 underground, 200 -> ground height, 300 -> 100 in the air
     
  5. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,128
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Due to the way WC3 works (it uses a collision system to detect and manage the height of a model / unit), if you could fall through the floors the game would probably crash as the model would become infinatly low I think. Thus the only way is to lower the model below the surface of the ground and via flying height make it above.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2007
  6. YoshiRyu

    YoshiRyu

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I really don't think he does that
    that's an expensive way to set the Z value for a game which doesn't require it
    the game probably juste use the map height, add the unit heigh bounded to 0.10 to avoid people make mistake
    i'm pretty sure there is no collision system unit/ground
    collision circle unit/unit and collide grid on the map is enough

    (i've already see a naga swimming in the ground, no crash because of the collision)
     
  7. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,128
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    I mean as in points, it uses a downward point collison system to get the terane height beneath the unit, thats how you can walk on doodads which are above the normal ground and can be set to any height. So basically you can not go beneath the ground in flying height for that reason.
     
  8. YoshiRyu

    YoshiRyu

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    and so my solution works : you translate down the model in the mdx
    (sample: an half sphere centered in 0,0,-100... set the unit model to it, then set the height to 0, the half sphere is underground; set the height to 100, the half sphere is on the ground, set the height to 200, teh half sphere is flying at 100's altitude)
     
  9. Samo

    Samo

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Mmmm...

    Ok, I´m thinking on this, but I don´t want to do something like that with MDX. I need to constantly change the Flying Height to Negative Values, Like -1, -3, -4.5, -7, and more quickly until -100. And All units of the game(excepting buildings & doodads) must have this. Soooo,,, now it is complicated!
    Note: The Naga swim because their animation of walking when swimming is lowered down...

    So, I just wandered if there is a way with Just Jass. If you actually try to put a flying heigh of a flying unit in the world editor to negative, it works, but you can´t do that by GUI!

    Well, if you don´t have any Idea, then ´My Ability Quick Sands is not going to be in the map.... Crap! :cry:

    Or Maybe you know the answer :grin:

    Ok, see ya! :thumbs_up:
     
  10. Eleandor

    Eleandor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,681
    Resources:
    2
    Models:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    haven't tried this, but what happens when you have a negative fly value in the object editor, and change it to 0 fly height in-game. Later, when required, you change the fly height back to "default" of unit... wouldn't that reset it to the negative value you gave it at first?
     
  11. wd40bomber7

    wd40bomber7

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    974
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Even if he did that Eleandor, he still wouldn't be able to change the flying height like he wants to. Anyway if Dr Super Good is correct then no matter what the game thinks, the game engine is unable to display a unit with negative fly height.
     
  12. YoshiRyu

    YoshiRyu

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    he want to make quick sands
    that's mean that he want all unit in an aera to slowly go down trough the ground

    maybe you could do this with a "sand ground" model that you place as an effect on the map, and then, you slowly make the real ground under the effect go down.
     
  13. Eleandor

    Eleandor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,681
    Resources:
    2
    Models:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    so... just change flying height of a unit to default over 10 seconds?
     
  14. YoshiRyu

    YoshiRyu

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    there is a "smooth" change height...? that's an idea
     
  15. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,128
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    The function that allows you to change a unit's height does it at a certian rate. Thus it is smooth up and down in a linar fasion. If you want any other types of height movement like a asceleration / deceleration, you need to make your own trigger functions for that.

    Remember that the change height function works in X height units per second if I remember correctly and not over X seconds.
     
  16. Samo

    Samo

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Good Idea Yoshi Ryu!

    Good Idea YoshiRyu! Maybe simulating the contrary effect of a quick sands is the solution! Ok, I´m gonna work on it. If you wanna leave the post if someone has a better idea, then do it. I´m Outta here! ThnX!