Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Expiration Timer Problem

Discussion in 'Triggers & Scripts' started by Shamanruler, Oct 31, 2006.

  1. Shamanruler

    Shamanruler

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    224
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I'm creating a mind control spell and having that gauge showing the amt of time left that the unit will be controlled would really help.

    So, in short, is it possible to remove an expiration timer (i know how to add one) from a unit with an expiration timer? thanks.
     
  2. Kixer

    Kixer

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    737
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Ever tried to set the timer to 0 seconds... dunno if it will work but its worth a try
     
  3. PurplePoot

    PurplePoot

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    11,161
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    Heres an idea

    When the origional unit's expiration timer gets to [.01] seconds, just Replace the unit with another one of itself, and convert the control

    You can also try

    Custom Script: call UnitRemoveAbility( udg_MyUnit, 'BTlf' )

    Which assumes that you have the mind control unit in a MyUnit Unit variable, and you are using a Generic expiration timer. Im not sure if this works, but its worth a shot.
     
  4. Kixer

    Kixer

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    737
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    lol Purple u know this game too well
     
  5. PurplePoot

    PurplePoot

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    11,161
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    Im not sure if itll work, but assuming it acts like other buffs it should.
     
  6. paskovich

    paskovich

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    794
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    I've already tried removing 'BTLF', but it kills the unit instantly. I tried pausing the timer, and then removing the ability, but it neither worked.
    The only thing that you can do is replacing the unit, but be carefull, all variables that refer to the original unit will be 'nullified'. Problems could occur with items, and aahh yes, abilities (if we're talking about a hero).