• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

Couple of more simple newbish questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
Joined
Mar 30, 2007
Messages
26
1. How do you check if a unit has a certain ability?
2. What does this action do? "For eac Integer A, then do action.
3. What's an ubersplat?

Thanks. I hope this'll be my last spam ;_;
 
Level 4
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
63
1. Go to edit your hero or unit, and at the top of the list of preferences, you should see a few options. One might say: "Abilities - Normal", which means the abilities the hero has at the start of the game... You might also find "Abilities - Hero", which are abilities your hero has to learn.

2. Lets say you want to drop each item from each slot in a hero... Instead of writing something like this:

  • Untitled Trigger 001
    • Events
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Hero - Drop the item from slot 1 of HERO
      • Hero - Drop the item from slot 2 of HERO
      • Hero - Drop the item from slot 3 of HERO
      • Hero - Drop the item from slot 4 of HERO
      • Hero - Drop the item from slot 5 of HERO
      • Hero - Drop the item from slot 6 of HERO
You use the "For each (integer A) from 1 to 6, do actions:" trigger to do something a little more efficient like this:

  • Untitled Trigger 001
    • Events
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • For each (Integer A) from 1 to 6, do (Actions)
        • Loop - Actions
          • Hero - Drop the item from slot (Integer A) of HERO
Bascially this means (integer A) is run through the system 6 times, dropping from slot 1, then 2, then 3 .etc. until (integer A) is equal to 6.

3. Im not actually sure what an Ubersplat is myself, I think it might be a more detailed looking floating text, but dont take my word for it.
 
Level 8
Joined
Mar 6, 2007
Messages
542
An ubersplat (in my vocab and usage of the word) is a very large unit explosion or blood effect, but thats just how i use it.
 
Level 8
Joined
Feb 4, 2007
Messages
389
I'm not sure exactly what distinguishes them from regular splats. I've come across them while working with the core Wc3 files several times, and the references in the data field are not very clear.

Here's a screenshot of the UberSplats.slk:
http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l178/TimmyTonks/UberSplats.jpg

As you can see, it's not very informative. To me it just looks like a few random textures that are used in multiple instances, but that's just a guess.

An ubersplat (in my vocab and usage of the word) is a very large unit explosion or blood effect, but thats just how i use it.

Looking more thoroughly, it seems that it may be exactly that.
 
Level 9
Joined
Jul 27, 2006
Messages
652
Ability level

To check (in game) if a hero has an ability add this condition :
Level of ABILITY for UNIT is greater than 0
 
Level 3
Joined
Mar 30, 2007
Messages
26
@Vulcansurge: For #1, what I meant to say was how do you check if a unit has a certain ability via trigger >_<; but thanks for answering my 2nd question, I sort of get it now.

@Kixer: What comparison is that? I can't find it in the Conditions window. Will it work if the ability was added via trigger, or if the unit isn't a hero? Thanks.

As for ubersplats, I guess it really isn't that useful from what I found out. Thanks for providing that list, Tonks.

- One more question: How do elevators work? When I activate one to go up, it functions exactly the same as when it was down (Units can't go to the next level of ground when I raise the elevator's height.). Do I need special triggers to make this work? Can I have units walk on top of doodads? Thanks.
 
Level 8
Joined
Mar 6, 2007
Messages
542
"set elevator height to XXX at map instaliation" a unit can walk on an elevotr tile regardless of other doodads or terrain, right over and up a cliff. Try to set adjacent elevators to.. say for elevator A is set at 5, connecting elevator B to make a stairway should be set at 5.2
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top