1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The 15th Mini-Mapping Contest came to an end. The Secrets of Warcraft 3 are soon to be revealed! Come and vote in the public poll for your favorite maps.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The 12th incarnation of the Music Contest is LIVE! The theme is Synthwave. Knight Rider needs a song to listen to on his journey. You should definitely have some fun with this theme!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Join other hivers in a friendly concept-art contest. The contestants have to create a genie coming out of its container. We wish you the best of luck!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Cooldown Reduction

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by ZiGOR, Jul 19, 2013.

  1. ZiGOR

    ZiGOR

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    569
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Hi everyone! I was thinking... is there any way to make spells to cooldown faster depending on stats or carried items?
     
  2. Sapi

    Sapi

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You need to make a new same spell with the different cooldown, then make a trigger if a unit acquiring an item just replace that spell with another
     
  3. BloodDrunk

    BloodDrunk

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,963
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    of course not. You'll have to make more abilities with different cooldowns. It's not that hard.

    Example: Create 5 or 3 abilities. 1 has 10 secs cd, 2 has 7.5, 3 has 5-6.

    and when you pick an item or your hero's ttributes become equal to or greater, just remove ??? ability from the unit and add that ability with less cooldown.

    I can't get triggers cuz I can't get triggers.
     
  4. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,353
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Not in Warcraft III. This is one of the many areas StarCraft II improved on.
     
  5. ZiGOR

    ZiGOR

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    569
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    10 armors, 10 weapons and 2 buffs allready over 200 spells need to be created... my map then will load 10 minutes :D

    as I expected... well thanks ))
     
  6. Spartipilo

    Spartipilo

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3,190
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You can if you use your custom cooldown system, maybe showing abilities cooldowns in a Multiboard, or displaying an alert message as a floating text or game text message. Just detect the "beginning of casting an ability" and check if the unit matches the cooldown requirement.
     
  7. Vladadamm

    Vladadamm

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,255
    Resources:
    9
    Maps:
    5
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    9
    ^You can also disable the ability for the time of the cooldown and then enable it again.
     
  8. Spartipilo

    Spartipilo

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3,190
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    ^ Yeah... you can make a "Disabled" form of abilities (The same icon but in gray color and no effect). replace with this one when the original is cast, and switch again when cooldown is done. This can be easily achieved with a really simple system i can make for you if you want.
     
  9. ZiGOR

    ZiGOR

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    569
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    It would be nice) but only if it doesn't disturb you ;)