1. The Aftermath has been revealed for the 19th Terraining Contest! Be sure to check out the Results and see what came out of it.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Melee Mapping Contest #3 - Results are out! Congratulate the winners and check plenty of new 4v4 melee maps designed for this competition!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The winners of our cinematic soundtrack competition have been decided! Step by the Music Contest #11 - Results to check the entries and congratulate the winners!
    Dismiss Notice

Cooldown Reduction

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by ZiGOR, Jul 19, 2013.

  1. ZiGOR

    ZiGOR

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    538
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Hi everyone! I was thinking... is there any way to make spells to cooldown faster depending on stats or carried items?
     
  2. Sapi

    Sapi

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You need to make a new same spell with the different cooldown, then make a trigger if a unit acquiring an item just replace that spell with another
     
  3. BloodDrunk

    BloodDrunk

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,966
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    of course not. You'll have to make more abilities with different cooldowns. It's not that hard.

    Example: Create 5 or 3 abilities. 1 has 10 secs cd, 2 has 7.5, 3 has 5-6.

    and when you pick an item or your hero's ttributes become equal to or greater, just remove ??? ability from the unit and add that ability with less cooldown.

    I can't get triggers cuz I can't get triggers.
     
  4. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,040
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Not in Warcraft III. This is one of the many areas StarCraft II improved on.
     
  5. ZiGOR

    ZiGOR

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    538
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    10 armors, 10 weapons and 2 buffs allready over 200 spells need to be created... my map then will load 10 minutes :D

    as I expected... well thanks ))
     
  6. Spartipilo

    Spartipilo

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3,190
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You can if you use your custom cooldown system, maybe showing abilities cooldowns in a Multiboard, or displaying an alert message as a floating text or game text message. Just detect the "beginning of casting an ability" and check if the unit matches the cooldown requirement.
     
  7. Vladadamm

    Vladadamm

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,255
    Resources:
    9
    Maps:
    5
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    9
    ^You can also disable the ability for the time of the cooldown and then enable it again.
     
  8. Spartipilo

    Spartipilo

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3,190
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    ^ Yeah... you can make a "Disabled" form of abilities (The same icon but in gray color and no effect). replace with this one when the original is cast, and switch again when cooldown is done. This can be easily achieved with a really simple system i can make for you if you want.
     
  9. ZiGOR

    ZiGOR

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    538
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    It would be nice) but only if it doesn't disturb you ;)