1. Are you planning to upload your awesome spell or system to Hive? Please review the rules here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Evolution complete! Make Darwin proud and go vote in the Techtree Contest #12 - Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Icon Contest #17 - Results are out! Step by to congratulate our winners!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Succumb to the whispers and join our Texturing Contest #29 - Old Gods!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The results for Texturing Contest #28 are out! Step by to congratulate our winners!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. We've created the Staff Job Openings thread. We're currently in need of icon, video production, and social/multimedia positions to be filled. Thank you!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. On May 20th a new law about privacy and data processing comes into work in the EU. I am no lawyer and I need help figuring out if we comply and if not, what we must do about it. Please message me if you can provide any assistance. Read more. Ralle
    Dismiss Notice

Codeless Save / Load in Wurst

Submitted by Sir Moriarty
This bundle is marked as approved. It works and satisfies the submission rules.
This is an example of a codeless Save/Load example done in Wurst, using Wurst's most recent additions for FileIO operations, created by yours truly.

It relies on the newly added Persistable API which allows easy and seamless saving/loading of arbitrary data. That means you can literally save anything, as much as you want. This is backed up by a rather robust MultifileIO system that splits up data between multiple files if there's too much of it.

Until Blizzard enables LocalFiles for all players, however, you will obviously need to enable LocalFiles in the registry. If you haven't heard of this LocalFiles trickery, it is basically a WC3 setting that allows you to read from files written from inside the game. Here's a FAQ entry from the fortress survival forums: How to Allow Local Files and what is it? - FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions