1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Base abilities for custom spells cast by melee-game AI units

Discussion in 'JASS/AI Scripts Tutorials' started by Boris_Spider, Apr 11, 2011.

  1. Yrk

    Yrk

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    224
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hi Boris_Spider ,

    Here are some you can add to the list ( If this is Update )
    -Phase Shift
    -Mana Flare
    -Anti-magic Shell
    -Unholy Frenzy
    -Cripple
    -Purge
    -Bloodlust
    -Statis Trap
    -Big Bad Voodoo
    -Dispel
    -Locust Swarm / Voodoo Spirits
    -Death Pact

    Hope it helps :)
    -----
    Ohhh , By the way , +Rep :)
     
  2. aider

    aider

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    The AI only cast these spells if the unit with the ability already know it from before right? You can't give an Acolyte the spell "Divine Shield" and it will automatically cast it when attacked? So you have to base the unit you want to cast Divine Shield automatically on Bandit Lord or some other unit that have Divine Shield as default?

    Because I tried giving "Priest" Divine Shield, but it didn't cast it automatically. But its base spells like Heal, Inner Fire and Dispel Magic it casts when the conditions are met.
     
  3. Xonok

    Xonok

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,040
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    8
    I have made several tests at various times and this doesn't seem to be true. However, some abilities do have strange rules for being cast.
     
  4. blancfaye7

    blancfaye7

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    560
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Indeed it does. Healing Wave and Chain Lightning are quite random. They aren't always cast on Cooldown.
     
  5. LordPerenoldeII

    LordPerenoldeII

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    869
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Farsight is unused at all???? what does it mean? the AI will never use it even if you tell it to?
     
  6. PurgeandFire

    PurgeandFire

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,426
    Resources:
    18
    Icons:
    1
    Spells:
    4
    Tutorials:
    9
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    18
    afaik it will use it if you tell it to, but the default AI will never use it.
     
  7. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,911
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    That's because it's an "Artificial Intelligence", not an "Artificial Stupidity". : )
     
  8. Xonok

    Xonok

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,040
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    8
    The AI knows your location anyway, so it doesn't need spells to scout you.
     
  9. VeljkoM

    VeljkoM

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,553
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Both are wrong. It is "Artificial Insanity". There is no intelligence in Warcraft AI.
     
  10. LordPerenoldeII

    LordPerenoldeII

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    869
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    lol yeah i know the AI has the whole map explored already so it would be nonsense, but if for some scenic reason one would use a farsight spell........it's not possible, because i tried to do it already once, long time ago. :/
     
  11. Xonok

    Xonok

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,040
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    8
    The interesting thing about AI is that it knows your location without actually seeing your units. Sort of like a group enumeration.
     
  12. LordPerenoldeII

    LordPerenoldeII

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    869
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Some games like Emperor:BfD or Wc2 seem to let the AI use scout units or abilities(for example holy vision with paladins). Maybe their AI is really blind? Or is subsceptible to fog of war?
     
  13. Xonok

    Xonok

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,040
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    8
    Well, it's a design limitation. It's either impossible to create an AI that would beat humans in a complex real-time game or it is prohibitively expensive. Thus, they are given some advantage to make up for them being stupid. Not having to scout is one of them in WC3.
     
  14. Weigazod

    Weigazod

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    If you play melee games for a time, you will realize that sight abilities such as Sentinel (Night elf huntress), Sentry Ward (Orc Witch Doctor), Farsight (Orc Farseer), Flare (Human Mortal team) aren't used by AI. To some extent, Undead Shades are never produced by your AI opponent.

    About Divine Shield question, i think the priest didn't use it because they are busy using Heal on themselves already. You may want to try on some other units and see the differences.
     
  15. blancfaye7

    blancfaye7

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    560
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    The AI DOES use Sentinel.
     
  16. Weigazod

    Weigazod

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Really? :vw_wtf:
     
  17. Zwiebelchen

    Zwiebelchen

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,789
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    5
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    12
    Just wanted to add this, as there's a lot of confusion about AoE spell AI and how they sometimes trigger if only 1 unit is caught by it:

    This happens when the caster has full mana. In this case, it's actually smart to use your spell to kill the unit fast in order to not waste the mana regeneration.
     
  18. blancfaye7

    blancfaye7

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    560
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Yes. I'm am very sure of it. I keep on playing Warcraft Melee maps with AI that on Normal or Insane. Both AI use Sentinel.
     
  19. kruzerg

    kruzerg

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    201
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    you should add ensnare to the list
    its auto cast just need delete the requirement and change the target uncheck the non hero
    and done :)
     
  20. pred1980

    pred1980

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    842
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    A question. When i want to cast an ability and NOT the AI of wc3, my ability have to based on "channel" right? Otherwise the spell would cast automaticly or?

    edit: i know it now ^^
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2016