1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

All abilities cast as if they were the last one

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Knightmawk, Dec 3, 2012.

  1. Knightmawk

    Knightmawk

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Solved: All abilities cast as if they were the last one

    First off Im sorry if the title doesn't make any sense and if anyone can think of a better one after reading this let me know, I didn't really know how to explain this shortly.
    Also, again I didn't really know what kind of issue this fell under, it's not a scripting problem exactly but I don't think it's a basic world edit thing either so if anyone can move this to the right place please do
    Same if this question has been asked and answered if someone could direct me there that'd be great, I had no idea what to search so Im unashamed to admit I barely tried.

    So whats happening, is I have a unit with several abilities, right now it's at six I believe. Each ability is based off of "build tiny town hall" or one of the "build tiny XXXXXX" abilities, either town hall or alter. The problem is that no matter which ability I select to use in game, they always cast the last ability in the list. All the scripts work and each ability works individually, but when I add them all to the units abilities and try to cast any of them it always casts the last one, regardless of what it is.

    Anyone have any idea whats going on and how I can fix it?
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2012
  2. rulerofiron99

    rulerofiron99

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,129
    Resources:
    14
    Maps:
    4
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    14
    Edit: disregard
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2012
  3. defskull

    defskull

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,978
    Resources:
    17
    Spells:
    17
    Resources:
    17
    @ruler
    You should really start testing/experimenting first before giving statements.

    The thing is, only Channel and Charge Gold and Lumber abilities can have multiple of Base Order ID, other abilities than that, it cannot

    It doesn't have to do anything at all with the Text - Order String - Use/Turn On, it is a hardcoded ability which you can't bypass the Base Order ID except if you trigger the ability by using Channel

    In Channel, it has this field called as Data - Base Order ID, this field what makes the ability order to be unique to each other, not the Text - Order String

    @Thread
    I suggest you to use Dummy Caster system, to cast the ability for you, while having 6 Channel abilities on that single unit (provided each ability has unique Base Order ID)
     
  4. Kusanagi Kuro

    Kusanagi Kuro

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    699
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    ^ That's the solution. Just make it more specify for u:
    U create 6 dummy ability that based on Channel. U also need to create 6 ability that based on Build Tiny Castle and changed them to what u want.
    When ur unit use the Dummy Ability, u create 1 dummy, add the true ability to it and then order it to cast that ability on the target point.

    Off-topic: Hey defskull, what is the order ID of Build Tiny Castle?
     
  5. defskull

    defskull

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,978
    Resources:
    17
    Spells:
    17
    Resources:
    17
    There is none.
     
  6. rulerofiron99

    rulerofiron99

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,129
    Resources:
    14
    Maps:
    4
    Spells:
    9
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    14
    Can't you maybe give a dummy unit the item, and order it to cast the item?
     
  7. defskull

    defskull

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,978
    Resources:
    17
    Spells:
    17
    Resources:
    17
    I just made a test to capture its Order ID, it is 852619 for all types of build.
    Guess you have to follow what ruler stated, by adding items to the dummy and order it to use it.
     
  8. Knightmawk

    Knightmawk

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    So allow me to try and piece all this together. What I have to do is, rather then having the six abilities I need to set them up as item abilities and swap the abilities I have for just a dummy caster summon and have the dummy caster use the item when they're summoned.

    And the reason it isn't working now is because the base IDs for all the abilities are the same so it's using an arbitrary one, or I guess the last one loaded by the system every time because when it looks for the base ID that's the one it finds. Am I close here?
     
  9. defskull

    defskull

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,978
    Resources:
    17
    Spells:
    17
    Resources:
    17
    You are, Knightmawk.

    Therefore, you need 6 item abilities for it to be given to your dummy unit one at a time and order it to use the item.
     
  10. Knightmawk

    Knightmawk

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    So Ive created the ability, based it off of channel, triggered it to summon the dummy caster and then have the dummy caster use the item to which the summon ability is assigned. However I'm having some problems in testing, Ive given the channel ability to the unit thats supposed to be doing the summoning, however the ability isn't showing up in game. What did I miss?

    Edit: Or should I create a different dummy ability and then trigger it to use channel whenever I use that ability?
     
  11. defskull

    defskull

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,978
    Resources:
    17
    Spells:
    17
    Resources:
    17
    A better way, just add the ability to the unit and order it to cast it.
    Here's a test map demonstrating how to use it.

    I only do one of the abilities, you should do the rest, okay ?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Knightmawk

    Knightmawk

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Excellent, thank you so much guys.
    @defskull I tried what you gave me and it didn't work at first, but it was doing the same thing, I changed the baseID for the casting ability and everything went swell though, thanks