1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The poll for Hive's 12th Concept Art Contest is up! Go cast your vote for your favourite genie!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Travel to distant realms and encounter scenes unknown to the common folk. The Greatest of Adventures is upon us with the 8th Cinematic Contest. Join in on a fun ride.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The 18th Icon Contest is ON! Choose any ingame unit and give him/her Hero abilities. Good luck to all.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Contestants are to create a scene set in the Stone Age. Come and see what you can come up with. We wish you the best of luck!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Colour outside the lines! Techtree Contest #13 is a go. The contest is optionally paired.
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Greetings cerebrates, our Swarm needs new spawners that will have numerous children. Join the HIVE's 31st Modeling Contest - Spawners and Spawned! The contest is optionally paired.
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

AI Editor

Discussion in 'General Mapping Tutorials' started by VeljkoM, Apr 1, 2010.

  1. map designer

    map designer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    896
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    my friend, care to explain anything about night elven wisps and the gold min? I bet you know that when entangle mine is destroyed, the 5 wisps leave and never come back
     
  2. VeljkoM

    VeljkoM

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,553
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Ok about two AIs yes its possible with triggers, turn of one then start another.

    That ability is coded in game engine though actually wisps should not be gone as far as I know. Custom night elf mines are bugged though at start of game as if it is destroyed the gold mine is gone to I think. Was long time since i experimented with warcraft editor though.
     
  3. map designer

    map designer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    896
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    new thing came to my mind. I made upgrades based on troll berserker! Now, all I have to do to make the AI not have any problem is go tech tree equivalents and make them both equal?
     
  4. map designer

    map designer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    896
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    hmmm.... copy/paste functions too bad for AI editor. No way we do it for multiple units? :/
    probably opening it in other program or so, if possible. we can do with notepad or something?

    EDIT: I could open it with notpade, but...ahh too complicated
     
  5. map designer

    map designer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    896
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    O.K. Here is a saved game for Night Elven AI. I wont you to use "ISeeDeadPeople" cheat code and look at the night elves just after it loads. Do you know how we are supposed to overcome the bug where the night elves have idle workers and empty entangled gold mine? maybe we need to interfere with triggers, better not to though.


    The Path for the map should be (D:\games\PC\War3\Warcraft III\)Maps\my maps

    Edit: had to compress the saved game to zip :/
     

    Attached Files:

  6. VeljkoM

    VeljkoM

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,553
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Ok I tested it and AI worked fine for me, although I have complaints about the order Nelves used, should be altar, ancient of war, moon well, then wisps, then first hero and then archers.
     
  7. map designer

    map designer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    896
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    yes the AI is fine, but did you see the save game? AI have idle workers and empty entangled mine...
     
  8. peter1987kh2

    peter1987kh2

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Help

    My english not very good, i am from malaysia
    I add a "attribute bonus" and a self make skill to all heros
    I change the level limit to 100
    I realise that, they wont self use the attribute bonus and the skill that add into them.

    how? Can you help me?
     
  9. VeljkoM

    VeljkoM

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,553
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Did you remember to export Object Editor data to the AI editor? Then in Ai editor you just select hero and in spell list you select what spells hero will learn.
     
  10. map designer

    map designer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    896
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Although I am not sure, I think AI leveling is limited to 10, and skills a hero use is limited (and must always be: no more, no less) to four skills. If that is true, you will have to make it level the skill up through trigger.
     
  11. Boris_Spider

    Boris_Spider

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    728
    Resources:
    6
    Icons:
    3
    Maps:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    I can second this, from what i remember. Anything above 10 has to be done via triggers since the melee-AI doesn't know what to do with extra skill points.

    //\\oo//\\
     
  12. map designer

    map designer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    896
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I share same opinion. Also, three skills must have 3 levels each and the forth skill must have one level only.

    That has made me some problems with my AI, for my newly made worrior hero has only three skills, with one of them having four levels. The AI cannot save since one of the abilities is unknown. To overcome this, I just imported a fake AI Data for my AI, giving the hero avatar as the an ultimate ability. Then, through trigger, I increase the level the skill with four levels when my hero reaches level 10 ( sorry if I used the word level too much)

    Edit: However, sometimes an error message pops up when I try importing the AI to the map with the real data and saving it, but I just don't care as long as I can save it other times ^_^
     
  13. Perke

    Perke

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    78
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    How can i use conditions? What's it for?
    I want to make Fel Orc AI , and make him attack with 2 fel orc warlocks , 2 fel orc raiders , 3 fel orc grunts , Do i need AI for that?
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2012
  14. map designer

    map designer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    896
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Condition is basically an "If/Else" statement.

    Example: Target of Wave: enemy main camp; Condition: number of fel orc grunt is greater than or equal 7

    but hey, is that not already explained in first post, or you didnt read? -.-
     
  15. Necromancer125

    Necromancer125

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I want to make a dota map and i needed this. right or wrong??
     
  16. Grey Nightmare

    Grey Nightmare

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,853
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    The AI editor is only really suitable for melee AI (building bases and training armies).
     
  17. map designer

    map designer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    896
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1



    so I guess... Wrong!
     
  18. slayerby

    slayerby

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    i want to do exactly this for my map to make ai use custom units but there is o extract cutom files in my object editor> file> (not here)
     
  19. slayerby

    slayerby

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    sorry it was called export object data in the editor and i got it, thank you for tutorial it really helped, +rep
     
  20. Twilight

    Twilight

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    398
    Resources:
    14
    Maps:
    14
    Resources:
    14
    Well I am Making a Custom race and I made a gold mine (Like the one on undead race) And I put it to test the harvesters dont mine they just sit there.