1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Let your favorite entries duke it out in the 15th Techtree Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Weave light to take you to your highest hopes - the 6th Special Effect Contest is here!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Add Multiple Skins for a Single Model

Discussion in '3D Modeling Tutorials' started by Sylvie, Feb 17, 2015.

  1. Adamus

    Adamus

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Great Tutorial it worked for the units, I tried for heroes particular the dreadlord it doesn't show the character at all he is the invisible dreadlord lol.. Do these steps apply to heroes as well? Thanks

    Great thanks that did work and very shorter and easier. On a side note i achieved a victory mwhahaha i figured out my mistake with this tutorial its a fine point so they both work lol and now both are really easy thanks Flux, and Sylvie!!
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2015
  2. Flux

    Flux

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    2,333
    Resources:
    28
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    19
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    6
    Resources:
    28
    It should work on any types. Maybe you did something wrong.
    This tutorial does the same but a LOT easier in my opinion (requires extra tool). if you are still struggling, have a look at it.
     
  3. DarkBlueLacky

    DarkBlueLacky

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    41
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  4. Ardenaso

    Ardenaso

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    624
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    There are times when it fails even when the skin used is present at the Import Editor; do I also have to change the import path?
     
  5. YetAnotherYoutuber

    YetAnotherYoutuber

    Video Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    219
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    i dont get it
    changed both material layers that had textures/footman to the custom texture, left gutz be, then saved as .mdx
    imported into editor, along with the original model, editor says -could not load file-
    the model of unit in wme looks like it should, but editor wont load and use it
    am i understanding it right that you, after saving the model, import it along with original model, and then select the model you created in the -art model file- as a custom one for the footman?
     
  6. Ardenaso

    Ardenaso

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    624
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You have done the Scarlet Footman, you should also do the Scarlet Captain

    I did the Scarlet Captain and it still won't work.
     
  7. Epic Producer

    Epic Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    125
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Sylvie , i have a question. how to find its path after its done?
     
  8. Daffa

    Daffa

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8,140
    Resources:
    30
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    9
    Spells:
    18
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    30
    Check the Texture Manager. Usually, the path is x.blp where x is the filename.
     
  9. Epic Producer

    Epic Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    125
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thank you!

    Just a request, why cant I make this skin ZL_ForestSeeker.blp work? I followed the path but warden just remained warden.


    (NOTE= Im not making it multiple skins one model. Just original import skin...)
     
  10. Daffa

    Daffa

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8,140
    Resources:
    30
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    9
    Spells:
    18
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    30
    I started to have doubt the path might be wrong there. You might want to check if it's Maiev's or Warden's texture.
     
  11. za Republiku

    za Republiku

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I changed the look of the jaina to BloodElfEnchantress but at startup I see only some shadow how to fix it ?
     
  12. Ardenaso

    Ardenaso

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    624
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hoping to see a Reforged version with screenshots