• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Evolution!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 6
I'm studying evolution in school right now and I wondered how accurately I could reproduce it in a game. All players would start with a small population of animals with many different genes (which would be represented by abilities). Since evolution is based on exploitation of advantageous mutations in genes, the gene mutations that are most utilized will become more pronounced and the unused will becom vestigial. This could be achieved using many ranks of abilities that differ very slightly from one rank to the next. If anyone has any elaboration on this concept, I would like to hear it. It was just an idea but I think I would fun doing it because I really enjoy making conceptual maps as opposed to mindless hero arenas.

Level 3
This is like spore combined with Darwin's island.

It's pretty cool idea, but it will need something exciting to it to compete with "Mindless hero arenas" lol

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 63
Spore - A eveloution based "sim" game in development by Will Wright which should eventually come out (should have been released 2 years ago).

WC3 is not really the best game for such a concept, I recomend eithor making your own game or just being happy with spore that should be out latter this year (do not count on it thou).

Level 21
WC3 is not really the best game for such a concept, I recomend eithor making your own game or just being happy with spore that should be out latter this year (do not count on it thou).

WC3 is a better game for this kind of maps than for e.g. shoot-em-up maps or racegames...