• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Editing/Using models?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
Hey guys, I'm working on my first map so I'm fairly new to this. I understand how to import models and make them attach to units. I believe there are a few different ways to do this; I do it by creating an item ability, importing and adding the model to the ability, creating a new item and attaching the ability to the new item.

The only problem I've run into with this is when I pick up Item A, the model of, say a sword, shows up, then I drop it. When I go to pick up item B, the model of Item A still shows up. Whatever item I pick up first in the game, always shows up no matter what other item I pick up. Any ideas?

The main reason I'm here... I've found models that will work for weapons I want to use in my game. Some items I find out are only for one hand, but I want to use them as a 2-handed weapon. For example, I found a warhammer model I wanted to use. When I set it up like I would a 2-hand weapon, instead it shows my unit holding two warhammers, one in each hand haha. Is there a way to make a 1H item to be held with both hands, or do I just have to find a 2H model to use?

Thanks!

Level 22
of course you can, if i'm correct there's "number of attachment point" or something with value of number. Change the value to 2. Then there's attachment point 1, attachment point 2, and things like that, aren't there? Change one to "Hand, Left" and the other one "Hand, Right". Hope this helps.

Chaosy

Tutorial Reviewer
Level 40