• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Metamorphosis Inquiry

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
Before I inquire, if this in the wrong section, I apologize.

Anyways, I was wondering if there was a way to change the model used in Illidan's metamorphosis ability. For instance, I've been remastering Warcraft 3 for a few months now, and during the Night Elf mission where Illidan absorbs the skull of Gul'dan, I want his transformation to turn him into a model I have of Illidan revealed demon form (not the shadowy preview). I just haven't been able to pinpoint how to alter the model because it's tied to the standard demon hunter model. I'm hoping there's some way to alter the model? If it doesn't work out, I'll probably have to go into the campaign map and alter it that way, but I'm hoping to do it with MPQ editor like I do for all other model adjustments in the campaign. Thanks ahead of time.

Level 12
Well you have overwrite/replace/change the model in which the metamorphosis ability transforms Illidan. As you said currently it's the same model just with an added animation tag.

Btw, what do you mean by remastering? Sounds cool.

Level 3
Well, it seems that it's not possible to do, even from a map altering perspective -- no big deal.