• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

RoC vs TFT

Reign of Chaos or The Frozen Throne?

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
This is a very interesting question now: did you like Reign of Chaos or The Frozen Throne, by this I am talking about; game-play, storyline, voice acting, music, campaign, cinematic and units. Comment about it and state your vote in the poll above.

<Spoiler> My Answer:

I liked Reign of Chaos more, because this is were I started playing War3, I felt very driven by the storyline in the campaign, I remember those first prologue missions of the campaign, I was just getting into this game. The game-play was indeed great, I loved to use some tactics, strategies using my time of the game. The voice acting was incredible, music was very ambient than from War1/ War2 games. I preferred ambient music because it sounded more mysterious and in-shape with the atmosphere. Cinematic movies were hugely with the top quality as with all Blizzard games, it was just amazing of how they archived such graphics in 2000 - 2003. Of course they had to be pre-rendered multiple times and quality lowered along with resolution: 800 x 600. But still those cinematic movies were purely outdone. My favorite cinematic was Dalaran Destruction. War3 also introduced heroic aka hero system and play-style, this time you could control various heroes with each race. Heroes were powerful second type of units, they had inventory and powerful heroic skills that required mana. Differently from War 1/ 2, Reign of Chaos this time had four races with dozens of other unplayable races across the maps. My favorite race was Undead & Night Elves. Undead and Night Elves had my favorite unit