• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Transitions in Campaigns Guide

Level 16
[TD]
Transitions in Campaigns Guide
[/TD]

This tutorial will teach you how to make a campaign with multiple maps that you can navigate through, like the 'Orc Bonus Campaign' but in much more advanced fashion.

In fact, Ralle's tutorial inspired me to make this one also with example campaign implemented with the tutorial for more detailed illustration.

Last word before we get started, I am using Blizzard's style and names for the triggers and variable; the reason for that is when I started learning how to make transition I used Blizzard's triggers and learned from it.

Now lets get started,

The idea to link the entire map network is very simple; this idea is giving each map a unique ID; that ID will be the reference to this map in the map network.

126172-albums1967-picture59503.jpg

As you can see, each area has a number which represents its ID; this ID is the key for making the transition work

Lets see the triggers then ...

Note: You could merge the following triggers' actions if you want but I like Blizzard's Style

A list of common variables and their type: (Sorted by Type)

Variable NameVariable TypeInitial Value
TransitionDataHT Hashtable - None -
AreaCount Integer 0 (Default)
AreaIndex Integer 0 (Default)
NHeroes Integer 0 (Default)
RestorePointIndex Integer 0 (Default)
SourceAreaIndex Integer 0 (Default)
TargetAreaIndex Integer 0 (Default)
Controller Player - None -
RestorePoint Point - None -
RestorePointReferencePoint Array (20) - None -
Facing Real 0 (Default)
FacingRestore Real Array (20) 0 (Default)
AreaName String - None -
CacheName String - None -
MapExtension String - None -