• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[Trigger] Items combine into new item

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
Let me start by saying, I'm new to the WC3 WE. Just started like 3 days ago. I've learned very fast with help from some great community members, but without an example or reference, it takes me forever to make a trigger, but I can usually get it working. I'm not quite sure how the triggers will work in relation to a custom spell or whatever I need for this:

1. (I'm making a survival/crafting game). Similar to “Wilderness Survival” game by Jay; I want a unit (with inventory) to be holding several items that combine into one. First, I need to know how to create my own Icon & tooltip (or spell? Idk) and name it “Craft.” Then, when i click on it, I want it to remove the recipe items from my inventory, and input the new item. How would I do this?

I ask a similar question a few days ago, and one person said "I suggest to get item system from spell section (preferable GUI)."

Can someone explain this, and/or give me a link to a tutorial?
I'm also not sure what type of triggers I will need, their setup, and how many I will need. Would I need a trigger for every single recipe?

Thank you.

Level 3
do you have any custom inventory... i mean a bigger inventory than that 6 size one of WC3?

I do not. Most of the recipes I'm thinking about using should not require any more than 4 slots. Maybe a select few might require 5 or 6 slots, probably no more than 1-5 items total.