• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

"Expected a function name" and some question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 4
Hello,

i am very new to writing JASS Code, though being a Software Developer familiar with the genre itself.

I am now trying to write some simple custom spells, using JassCraft and GUI -> Jass Translation as base of finding the functions that i need to implement desired functionality.

So far its working quite well, im getting a hang of the naming conventions in order to guess function names that do what i am looking for (i search for what i think certain functions should be called in JassCraft and check the function protoype).

But now i am encountering some kind of syntax error that i cant seem to get behind, here is the code:

JASS:
function Trig_Arcane_Blast_IsEnemyUnit takes nothing returns boolean
   return ( IsPlayerEnemy(GetOwningPlayer(GetFilterUnit()), GetOwningPlayer(GetTriggerUnit())) == true) 
endfunction

function Trig_Arcane_Blast_Actions takes nothing returns nothing
    local group enemyUnits = GetUnitsInRangeOfLocMatching(250, GetSpellTargetLoc(), Condition(function Trig_Arcane_Blast_IsEnemyUnit))
    call DamageUnitGroup(GetOwningPlayer(GetTriggerUnit()), 3 * GetHeroInt(GetTriggerUnit(), true), enemyUnits)
    set enemyUnits = null
endfunction

I am getting an error message, stating "Expecting function name" for the line in which i call DamageUnitGroup.

I have looked up the prototype of this function in JassCraft and i pass parameters matching this - i cant really seem to understand what is wrong here.