• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

How to begin in triggering, for the complete noob

Level 9
Getting started triggering in the WE

First of all, this tutorial is for people who know their way around the basic trigger editor, meaning how to create a trigger but not to set up exact events and triggers for in game.

Now let us discover what exactly triggers are and what they do.

Triggers are options you can put into place in the WE so that different events will occur in game. They can be simple to very complex, and they can create many different effects from spells and abilities to cinematic and unit, in game actions.

When you are just beginning modding with the WE the trigger editor may seem a little overwhelming at first, but I will describe each piece and give some examples of simple triggers that will help you create simple trigger maps.

Events: This is where you should start when making your trigger, however when you first start you may be drawn to look at the actions section since it is a bit more explained and easy to understand. This is however where you will make the trigger work. You will place the basic action to occur here.

eventstut.jpg

Conditions: These may seem quite confusing to you beginners but they aren't as bad as you may think. Here is where you will set the conditions that must be taken for your trigger to work. In lay mans terms, here you will say what must happen for your actions to take place.

conditionstut.jpg