• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Add (not replace) custom Uber Splat

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
Hey all, this is my first time posting here (unless I did so on an old account many years ago when I first got into map making), so forgive me for not getting all the rules correct. From what I have attempted thus far, I think I'm correct to put this question in the texturing and surfacing forum.

I have a simple idea. I want to basically make a custom uber splat texture for the buildings of my custom race.

If you look at the C_HumanCastleUberSplat.bmp texture which is used for the ground texture on the castle, View attachment HumanCastleUberSplat.blp you can see that the castle-ish texture would be where I would want to put my new texture in. For example I would like to put the Cityscape-Black Marble texture in place of that.

Opening it up in Gimp, I added a layer with the black marble and made it fit over the castle area (I might have deleted the original castle area) then saved and converted to .blp with WC3 Viewer. If you're wanting to try this yourself you might do it more professionally because I'm a total noob at this. View attachment BlackMarbleSplatCastle_old.blp

Looking at this thread: http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/...98/problem-ground-textures-ubersplats-191408/ I saw how to use the SLK file to add an ubersplat, and where all the original ubersplats are located. I was able to shift-click edit the texture and put in the 4-letter name and it successfully showed an atypical ground texture, but one that has a path in the original MPQ file.