• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Gaias Heroes

Status
Not open for further replies.

EdgeOfChaos

E

EdgeOfChaos

Hey, I started playing Gaia's a while back, and I want to say it's really well made. The systems implemented in the game are by far the best I've seen in a wc3 game besides maybe TKoK. So, please don't take my criticisms of the game as just flaming, I think there are good and bad things to the game.

My main criticism: the heroes are boring. The heroes are, if I remember right, Squire, Thief, Archer, Wizard, and Cleric. Now, these 5 heroes have been done about 1000 times in warcraft (substituting Warrior for Squire) and I find when I'm playing, I'm not able to get exited about any one of these heroes.

I tried 4 out of the 5 of them (did not try Squire) and I also think the abilities aren't very good. They are balanced and perform fine, but they're not all that interesting of abilities; mainly just point-click damage skills and singletarget heals.

There are some exceptions to this, like the Thief (who I find to be the most fun to play) and occasionally abilities of the other heroes. But for the most part there's not much variety in what the skills do (Wizard is the biggest culprit here, having so many single target magic damage skills.)

Now, the heroes do change once you rank up at level 20 (if I remember right), but the ranked up heroes have the same model and skills as the lower rank hero, and they don't even feel any different to me until I farm enough to afford the expensive extra skills. And even then they feel barely different only.

Last edited by a moderator:
The basic abilities all serve a certain purpose and are as balanced as they can be.