• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Vanguard

Status
Not open for further replies.

sentrywiz

S

sentrywiz

I almost build vanguard for all heroes because it's so good.
Max hp, hp regen and block. Especially on squishy ranged chars. Always on junglers.
Just wondering what are your thoughts on this. I'm no pro but I feel that vanguard is a good choice for any hero.

Level 21
Vanguard is actually a good item for early game but in late it's not a big deal. Yeah, it blocks some damage but if you get someone with 200 damage that vanguard will not give you great defence. Then, it's not that good for ALL heroes. For ranged units, it's less effective so I usually don't pick it for them.

Level 17
as already mentioned, vanguard is a weak lategame item. that's why they made it upgradeable to crimson guard (which is a really decent support item).
you usually don't build it on any carry because it interrupts your farm. supporter can buy better items for that gold like mekansm or force staff/dagger.
however there are some heroes that have a great use of this item.
Axe - obviously
Ogre Magi - if you can afford it very quickly he gets really fat and is nearly unkillable, in addition with his 7 base armor and 2,5 base hp regeneration

sentrywiz

S

sentrywiz

as already mentioned, vanguard is a weak lategame item. that's why they made it upgradeable to crimson guard (which is a really decent support item).
you usually don't build it on any carry because it interrupts your farm. supporter can buy better items for that gold like mekansm or force staff/dagger.
however there are some heroes that have a great use of this item.
Axe - obviously