• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Presenting my map: Peanut

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 12
I'm pleased to present the first map on the Hive, I hope many will follow.

Peanut Workshop link

The concept is simple, it is a best-of-5 rounds battle map having very limited size and uses the normal DotA heroes and items.

The map is best played with a larger number of people, up to 10.

Currently there are no bots and only All Pick due to restrictions in the Workshop tools.

If you like it, rate it and leave some feedback in the comments.

Level 12
Can you tell us how it is like, if the editor is hard and other details?
I am not a pro by any means but yes I can. Specific questions are prefered though, so I can outright say whether I know the answer or not.

A very good general overview can be found here.

You subscribe to maps/addons and get automatic updates as soon as the creator uploads them. As far as I can see there is no map size limit currently, though the map is built to one file, which means it should be somewhere below 2GB, as 32-bit systems will in the future also be able to play custom maps.

The new version of the Hammer (level) editor is swift and capable. Of course being capable means you need some training. Hammer is where the Workshop Tools currently shine. The terrain editor is great, you can create your own meshes with your own textures and use them as terrain or create new tilesets by yourself. Along with that it has many basic tools (moving, rotating, scaling, clipping, mirroring, texture projection, painting, displacing) for modifying objects/meshes/faces/...