View Full Version : I don't think this is a virus
Acorn511
04-16-2011, 12:36 PM
>.> but norton says this site is infected
http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=hiveworkshop.com
Tleno
04-16-2011, 01:01 PM
Yeah, once I had same thing with AVG saying this, but it sayed this only once checking mini-game mapping contest thread... and never happened again.
Oh, it said this said is infested, it's may be a physing site or some social engineering site, whatever that means... and as I understand, it could have been just reported by somebody for lulz or accidentally...
WherewolfTherewolf
04-16-2011, 02:46 PM
"http://dl.hiveworkshop.com/1f0a2886483b3bfdbc3d2d9ec4769773/4d98d284/1/tools_248/cJassSetup.exe "
This is where it says the virus is.
If the program works anything like JNG then it could recognize it as a trojan I believe (the way the programs work appears very much like a virus), but it says the file is a keylogger. Could we get someone to check that?
Shadow Daemon
04-16-2011, 03:07 PM
"http://dl.hiveworkshop.com/1f0a2886483b3bfdbc3d2d9ec4769773/4d98d284/1/tools_248/cJassSetup.exe "
Have you tried to read thread of that tool?
1. http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/tools-560/cjass-adichelper-1-4-1-5-a-145653/index2.html#post1340983
2. http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/tools-560/cjass-adichelper-1-4-1-5-a-145653/index3.html#post1414501
3. http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/tools-560/cjass-adichelper-1-4-1-5-a-145653/index4.html#post1704364
4. http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/tools-560/cjass-adichelper-1-4-1-5-a-145653/index5.html#post1827678
WherewolfTherewolf
04-16-2011, 03:12 PM
Yes I know what the tool is, well at least those posts make sense of the situation.
Lyerae
04-16-2011, 03:20 PM
>.> but norton says this site is infected
Found 'yer problem.
Boris_Spider
04-16-2011, 03:43 PM
I get the same warning. Although it's just "caution" now instead of "warning." It happened shortly after ralle switched to the new server (at least that's when I started noticing it). More likely than not, it's just one of the ads... again.
//\\oo//\\
Tleno
04-16-2011, 04:09 PM
I get the same warning. Although it's just "caution" now instead of "warning." It happened shortly after ralle switched to the new server (at least that's when I started noticing it). More likely than not, it's just one of the ads... again.
//\\oo//\\
Hundred percent not. These Tribalfusion ads are harmless, since most of them are related to some american social information sites... or wahtever that's called... and there are no new ads...
Now, erm, yes, Jass is often tough to be a virus by the anti-viruses... now people, stop accusing AVG, Norton and whatever else to be a piece of shit... that's not the solution... now seriously, I have no idea why would anti-viruses think THW is dangerous...
OffGraphic
04-16-2011, 04:13 PM
As said by WherewolfTherewolf, it is a resource in Hive.
This (http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/tools.php?id=9kjk7w) is the cause of the alert~ You probably tried to download it.
Tleno
04-16-2011, 04:16 PM
Nope. I didn't try to download it. I haven't used any of software from THW... as I already said, I was just checking the Mini-game mapping contest thread and poof! the message that this site may be dangerous appeared. After that nothing similar to that happened...
Lyerae
04-16-2011, 04:27 PM
now seriously, I have no idea why would anti-viruses think THW is dangerous...
Because they are known to report legitimate programs as viruses due to severe bugs in the software.
Tleno
04-16-2011, 04:30 PM
Because they are known to report legitimate programs as viruses due to severe bugs in the software.
Actually these are not bugs. Just that those programms inject themselves into other software, like WE, just like viruses do. So, that makes sence why they detect them as viruses.
Lyerae
04-16-2011, 04:38 PM
Actually these are not bugs. Just that those programms inject themselves into other software, like WE, just like viruses do. So, that makes sence why they detect them as viruses.
Bugs in the sense that it's unwanted behavior.
Marsal
04-16-2011, 05:20 PM
>.> but norton says this site is infected
http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=hiveworkshop.com
no offense but Norton is BULLSHIT
it can destroy a whole os
well windows can destroy itself too ~.~ but the combo...
Adiktuz
04-16-2011, 05:20 PM
yeah, they were made too responsive that sometimes it becomes bad, like on this one...
Grey Nightmare
04-16-2011, 06:01 PM
I'd much rather my antivirus pick up safe content as a virus than let viruses through as safe content, wouldn't you?
Only answer you need:
Actually these are not bugs. Just that those programms inject themselves into other software, like WE, just like viruses do. So, that makes sence why they detect them as viruses.
In short, don't worry the site isn't infected it may just be listed as a carrier of malware due to the hosting of a program that does the above (e.g. newgen or in this case cJass.exe).
Lyerae
04-16-2011, 11:44 PM
I'd much rather my antivirus pick up safe content as a virus than let viruses through as safe content, wouldn't you?
If I'm paying for it, I expect it to detect whether it's a false positive or not.
Tleno
04-17-2011, 08:46 AM
Erm, may I ask why this happened only now though that programm was on THW for like years?
Adiktuz
04-17-2011, 08:49 AM
Maybe because of updates on the Antivir itself... sample: old antivirs don't pick up newgen as a virus, but newer ones do...
Tleno
04-17-2011, 08:51 AM
I didn't had any major updates lately... plus Notron and AVG and probably some others at same time? I doubt that's a coincedence...
Adiktuz
04-17-2011, 08:53 AM
maybe it updated automatically? I never run updates on mine (I'm using BitDefender), I just enabled auto-update... ^.^
anyway, I never had problems with THW and antivirs...
Tleno
04-17-2011, 08:54 AM
Me too... hey this happened only once to me... maybe it actually was reckonized as fake alert?
Adiktuz
04-17-2011, 08:54 AM
I think so...
Traxamillion
04-29-2011, 07:49 AM
Some ads in the past have had virus' implemented into them but Ralle has weeded all of them out. Also Norton itself is basically a virus so i'd look into getting rid of that.
Tleno
04-29-2011, 11:37 AM
No, not just Norton reported this, plus this happened only once... you know I think that was just a false alarm that got fixed...
Virus ads? Yes, Ralle once needed more funds for Hive, so he enabled not just Tribalfusion, but yieldmanager and bidvertiser ads. So bid one had some unthrustaly ads, so Ralle removed it after figuring out the source of problem. Later he needed some funds again, and those in charge of ads promised there will be no more problems like that... but then there was some... adultish advertisement, so Ralle said "Son I'm dissapoint" and removed those again. Hopefully forever.
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by
vBSEO 3.5.1 PL2